Local roundup: EH’s Bolding wins IBCA scholarship


Eastern Hancock senior girls basketball player Sammie Bolding was one of 40 Indiana high school seniors named winners of 2024 scholarship awards from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Wednesday, (May 1).

The IBCA — a statewide coaches group with about 2,400 members — this year is presenting a grant of $500 to each recipient in the names of Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies, Pat Aikman and Steve & Jeanie Witty.

Through the years, the IBCA has awarded about $800,000 in scholarships to Indiana student-athletes.

Bolding was among the 34 Crawley Scholarships that were presented to 15 boys players, 15 girls’ players, three student managers and one team statistician.

The girls’ recipients for 2024, along with Bolding included Payton Benge of Plainfield, Abigail Bovie of Leo, Bailey Carson of Maconaquah, Chloey Graham of Gibson Southern, Kaidin James of New Washington, Bella Kilps of Hauser, Jayci Kitchen of Eastside, Ally Malone of Gibson Southern, Bailey Owens of Madison, Ellie Ryan of Oldenburg Academy, Kyah Streeval of Edinburgh, Sadie Wachsmann of Oldenburg Academy, Azaryon Wesley of Princeton and Madison Wireman of Oregon-Davis.

The boys’ recipients for 2024 are Isaac Andrews of Wapahani, Addison Barnes-Pettit of Greensburg, Max Barr of Frankton, Tillman Etchison of Hamilton Heights, Josh Fowler of Northview, Cayden Gehlhausen of Evansville North, Nolan Hackleman of North Putnam, Parker Hehman of Brownstown Central, Trishtan Holmes of Gary West, Blaine Hornsby of Connersville, Dylan Maxwell of East Central, Andrew Noblitt of Jasper, Zane Norman of Evansville Mater Dei, Griffin Smith of Cowan and Adam Stephenson of East Central.

The statistician recipient is Max Finn of Indianapolis Cathedral, and the student manager recipients for 2024 are Bruce Amstutz of Carroll (Fort Wayne), Lexi Lofton of Danville and Caressa Redd of Speedway.

Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one’s school and community. Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach — two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos — who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA, serving in that role from 1970-74. He then served as the IBCA assistant executive director from 1974 until he passed away in 1982.


Area athletes make college choices

Mt. Vernon (8) and New Palestine (3) social media pages announced a number of college commitments for their senior athletes Monday.

At Mt. Vernon, for track and field, Anna Stanfield has selected Hanover College. Elaina Moore has committed to Huntington University and Emma Gasiorek is set to run both track and cross country at DePauw University.

Aidan Lindstrom is going to DePauw and Roland Trimble to Findlay University to play football.

Addy Lockwood will continue her multi-sport career at Trine University, playing both soccer and tennis. Maria Downs has signed to play tennis at Indiana Wesleyan University.

Softball standout Shelby Rakosky signed with Mt. St. Joseph.

For New Palestine, golfer Hanna Beller committed to play at Franklin College. Boys swimmers Liam Fuller and Aidan Kingery have made plans for Wabash College.

In addition, former New Palestine football standout offensive lineman Luke Burgess announced he is transferring from Louisville to Appalachian State.

College Tennis

New Pal’s Long named All-HCAC

New Palestine’s Megan Long, a senior on the Anderson University women’s tennis team was one of four Ravens to earn All-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference honors, announced last Wednesday by the conference office.

Long was selected to the first team for the fourth straight year.

She is the school’s career record-holder for singles wins (36), doubles wins (37) and overall wins (73).

“Megan is the anchor and leader of our women’s program,” Anderson University coach Scott Greve said. “With all of her accomplishments and record-setting performances this year, it is fitting for her to receive the honor of being first-team all-conference. She is definitely the leader of our women’s tennis team and has the desire to accomplish more.”