Minch named ICGSA All-State


Mt. Vernon junior Ellery Minch was named ICGSA Second Team All-State.

The Daily Reporter File Photo

Staff report

Mt. Vernon junior Ellery Minch was selected Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association Second Team All-State.

The ICGSA released its all-state teams Wednesday.

Minch, a 6-foot-1 forward, averaged a team-best 16.4 points per game and 1.5 blocks. Additionally, she contributed 5.3 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.3 steals.

She had seven games of 20 or more points, including a 27-point performance late in the season against Richmond. She averaged 16 points per game in three postseason contests, including 18 in the sectional championship victory over New Palestine.

Minch helped lead the Marauders to a 19-7 season, a third straight sectional championship, and undefeated (7-0) Hoosier Heritage Conference title.

Earlier, Minch was selected to the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association “Supreme 15” All-State honors for underclassmen. She was also named to the Indiana All-Star “Futures Games” to be played June 10, at Gainbridge Fieldhouse, as part of the Indiana-Kentucky All-Star series.

ICGSA First Team All-State: Cristen Carter, Ben Davis; Maddy Hackman, Brownstown Central; Alli Harness, Carroll; Layla Gold, Cathedral; Saige Stahl, Columbus East; Ava Weber, Corydon Central; Josie Trabel, East Central; Samiyah Stout, Elkhart; Amber Tretter, Forest Park; Chloey Graham, Gibson Southern; Riley Makalusky, Hamilton Southeastern; Riley Flinn, Harrison; Allison Stephens, Homestead; Faith Wiseman, Indian Creek; Lauren Foster, Indian Creek; Renna Schwieterman, Jay County; Linzie Wernert, Lanesville; Nevaeh Jackson, Northrop; Saniya Jackson, Northrop; McKenna Layden, Northwestern; Ashlynn Brooke, Pioneer; Bailey Tabelling, Trinity Lutheran; Addison Bowsman, Twin Lakes; Lillian Barnes, Valparaiso; Asiah Baxter, Warren Central; Laila Hull, Zionsville.

ICGSA Second Team All-State: Jacklynn Hosier, Alexandria-Monroe; Brynn Owens, Austin; Madison Wagner, Carroll; Ava Ziolkowski, Crown Point; Maya Layton, Faith Christian; Kyra Hill, Goshen; Camryn Runner, Hamilton Heights; Olivia Brown, Hamilton Southeastern; Abby Fleetwood, Indian Creek; Julian Woodard, Jennings County; Ellery Minch, Mt. Vernon; Ava Couch, North Central; Eva Fisher, Northrop; Brooklyn McLemore, Northrop; Jackie Crews, Paoli; Jess Troy, Penn; Julia Economou, Penn; Lexi Smith, Princeton; Ellie Richardson, Scottsburg; Avah Montgomery, Southridge; Lizzie Graham, Triton Central; Olivia Nickerson, Twin Lakes; Kristin Bukata, Valparaiso; Denyha Jacobs; Warren Central; Caitlyn Campbell, Winchester.

ICGSA Third Team All-State: Addie Shank, Bishop Luers; Maci Chamberlin, Blue River Valley; Kalee Borden, Brownstown Central; Josie Vaughn, Corydon Central; Kamrah Banks, Decatur Central; Trinity Wilburn, Faith Christian; Leah West, Greensburg; Maya Makalusky, Hamilton Southeastern; Riley Whitlock, Harrison; Campbell Moore, Harrison; Mya Epps, Homestead; Emma Reust, Homestead; Lilly Toppen, Kankakee Valley; Laniah Wills, Lapel; Bradie Chambers, Linton; Juliana Davis, Madison; Gracyn Gilliard, Munster; Kaidin James, New Washington; Nakiya Harris, North Central; Lexi Hale, Northwestern; Payton Benge, Plainfield; Azaryon Wesley, Princeton; Kylee Edwards, Shelbyville; Brooklyn Renn, Silver Creek; Bailey Keusch, Southridge; Addison Ward, Twin Lakes; Kait Honeycutt, Wabash; Emma Haan, Zionsville.

Mrnak selected to academic team

Mt. Vernon senior Samantha Mrnak was named to the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association Honorable Mention Academic All-State Basketball team.

The ICGSA released its all-state and all-state academic teams Wednesday.

Criteria for the award includes being a senior student-athlete and have a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale or equivalent (Examples: 10.5 on 12.0, 9.625 on 11.0, 8.75 on 10.0, 7.00 on 8.0, 5.25 on 6.0, 4.375 on 5.0, 87.5 on 100).

The student-athlete must be a varsity team member and played in 50 percent of the contests and have a minimum SAT score of 1110 on the critical reading (verbal) and math or a minimum ACT composite score of 24.

The school’s coach must be a current member of the IGCSA.