Township board member keeps seat


VERNON TOWNSHIP — A Hancock County Republican Party caucus selected David Hawkins for a seat on the Vernon Township Advisory Board.

Hawkins was chosen to serve a term initially won by Anthony Buechler in last year’s election, as Buechler resigned before the term started.

Hawkins has served on the board since July 2022, when the county GOP tapped him to replace Gary Sharrett, who stepped down with about six months left in his 12th term after moving out of the township.

Marybeth Sears and Tim Plank also serve on the board. Florence May is the township trustee. The officials oversee multiple functions of township government, including fire protection, emergency medical services, cemeteries and poor relief.