School briefs


Prange earns degree from UA

NEW PALESTINE – Ashley Prange of New Palestine graduated from the University of Alabama last month. She earned a bachelor of science degree in human environmental sciences.

The University of Alabama, part of The University of Alabama System, is the state’s flagship university.

Ratts earns high honor rank

FORTVILLE – Nicole Ratts of Fortville was named to the Milwaukee School of Engineering’s dean’s list with high honors for the 2022 spring quarter. Ratts is pursuing a bachelor of science degree in biomedical engineering. Students who achieve the “high honor” status maintain a 3.7 or higher grade point average.

University of Indianapolis names local honor students

HANCOCK COUNTY – Several Hancock County residents were named to honor lists at University of Indianapolis for the second semester of the 2021-22 school year.

Honor roll students that earned a 3.4 to 3.7 grade point average with 12 credit hours included New Palestine residents Colin Carter, Emily O’Connor and Devon Whitaker; Greenfield resident Emily Francis; and McCordsville resident Alexi Hardie.

Students named to the dean’s list for a 3.7 or higher grade point average with 12 credit hours included Greenfield residents Zachary Bell, Allison Bowman, Abraham Buescher, A’Driella Butcher, Laura Campbell, Amy DeVault, Macy Francis, Adam Herbert, Austin Keele, Kyle Moore, Braden Mundell and Benjamin Parke; New Palestine residents Emily Bales, Emily Burrell, Kaylin Casner, Allie Commons, AJ Garrett, Austin Keele, Aubrey Lawless, Brianne Lawson, Ahnicka Litteral, Katie Miller, Sean O’Leary and Sydnee Widmann; Fortville residents Alycia Arkenau, Chase Wilkerson and Christopher Wilkerson; and McCordsville residents Abigail Cook and Britany Steward.

Mt. Vernon schools earn award

FORTVILLE – Mt. Vernon Middle School and Fortville, McCordsville and Mt. Comfort elementary schools have been recognized as Project Lead the Way Distinguished Schools for providing broad access to learning opportunities.

PLTW is a nonprofit organization that serves millions of pre-kindergarten through 12th grade students and teachers in schools across the United States. The program empowers students to develop knowledge and skills through computer science, engineering and biomedical science and includes teacher training and resources.

The Distinguished School designation for the three elementary schools required them to offer one PLTW Launch module in each grade (k-5) and had at least 75% of students in their schools participate in the module during the 2020-2021 school year.

For the middle school to achieve the designation, a PLTW launch module was required in each grade (6-8) and at least half of students had to participate.

Kleiman named to dean’s list

NEW PALESTINE – Audrey Kleiman of New Palestine was named to the dean’s list of Samford University for the 2022 spring semester. To qualify, Kleiman had to have earned at least a 35 grade point average while attaining 12 credit hours of coursework. Samford is a Christian university located in Birmingham, Al.

Franklin College announces local honor students

GREENFIELD – Franklin College recently announced students with Hancock County ties on its academic honors lists for the spring 2022 semester.

Greenfield resident Zachary Tutrow, a senior, was named to the president’s list, having achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average while completing at least 12 credit hours.

Fortville resident Brandon Jenkins, a freshman, was named to the dean’s list, earning a grade point average between 3.5 to 4.0 while completing at least 12 credit hours.

Caster named to dean’s list

GREENFIELD – Anna Caster of Greenfield was named to the dean’s list at Monmouth College for the spring 2022 semester. To achieve the dean’s list, students need to attain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher with at least three academic credits. Monmouth College, located in Monmouth, Ill., is a libreal arts college affiliated with the Presbyterian Church.