Marauder merriment: MVHS seniors celebrated in awards event


FORTVILLE — Many students from the Mt. Vernon senior class of 2024 were recognized for their outstanding achievements at Senior Honor Night earlier this month.

The event was hosted by the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation.

As the students entered the stage, their names were announced with the college or university they plan to attend or their intended field of work. The ceremony began with opening remarks from Mt. Vernon High School Principal Brooke Tharp and the Student Government President, Michael Shearer, followed by the presentation of awards/scholarships.

The total amount of scholarship money awarded to the Class of 2024 was $8,381,630. The following is a compilation of the awards distributed on Senior Honor Night and the students who received them:

Department awards: Agriculture, Jackson Dowden; Band, Katelyn Deuser; Business, Brady Fitzgerald; Choir, Dezi Lehr; Engineering and Technology, Samuel Bridenthal; English/ Language, Hannah Elstro; FACS, Lily Sexton; Health/Physical Education, Tyler Etherington;

Mathematics, Seth Woolston; Science, Seth Woolston; Social Studies, Lillian Ray; Visual Arts, Penelope Dearth; World Language, Reagan Rosner.

Service and Citizenship Recognition; Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award, Emma Gasiorek;

Army National Guard Scholar Athletes, Katelynn Hawkins and Colin Strachman; Character Award, Misha Patel and Michael Shearer; Gary Leward Award, Jackson Dayhoff; Mt. Vernon AP Scholars with Honor, Penelope Dearth, Misha Patel, Seth Woolston, and Chloe Wright; Mt. Vernon AP Scholars with Distinction: Cameron Sullivan.

Service and Citizenship Merit Awards went to Rebecca Anderson, Berenice Bulgado-Trujillo, Austin Crockett, Rachel Fentz, Lillian Ferguson, Jamyah Gillard, Garrett Glassing, Myranda Groce, Katelynn Hawkins, Jazmin Henderson, Tyler Hexamer, Phoenix Hull, Mattie Isger, Wilbert Jones, Savannah Jouppi, Adam Koon, Isabelle Lacy, Dezi Lehr, Lydia Lewis, Ava Lusby, Tyler Nichols, Isaiah Njau, Dawson Perry, Kylie Quispe, Lillian Ray, Aya Renforth, Aiden Roundtree, Dakota Sandstrom, Kyla Selbe, Luke Shelton, Natalie Sparks, Anna Stanfield, Aubrey Trittipo, Jacen Troxwell, Kalin Wallpe, Emily Westfall and Lillian Wong.

National Honor Society officers were Mya Adams, secretary; Annelise Hiner vice president; Sophie Maxwell president; Misha Patel, treasurer; and Lillian Wong, historian.

Student Government officer were Mya Adams, executive president; Rachel Fentz, executive historian; and Sophie Maxwell, executive vice president.

Senior class officers and representatives included Katie Bowsher, secretary; Phoenix Hull representative; Ava Lusby, representative; Isaiah Njau, treasurer; Misha Patel, vice president; Callie Runyan, representative; and Micheal Shearer, president.

Community scholarships for MV seniors included: Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarship, Adam Koon, Andres Langston, Lily Muhlenkamp, Cameron Sullivan, and Easton Wampler; Certificate of Multilingual Proficiency, Samantha Mabura; Hancock County Art Educators Award, Karmen Kalal; Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Boosters Scholarships, Daniel Barnes, Katelyn Deuser; Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award, Natalie Sparks; Jack Roysdon Good Neighbor Service Award, Olivia Hayden; Kristofor J. Hammond Scholarship, Emma Gasiorek;

Bruce A. McKinney Memorial Scholarship, Lily Harney; Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship, Easton Wampler; Phyllis Wright Scholarship, Emily Xiao; William W. Weil Good Citizen Scholarship, Rachel Fentz and Sophie Maxwell; Mental Attitude Athletic Scholarship in Honor of Robery Doddridge and Coaches Jimmie Howell and Randy Wilson, Colin Strachman;

Walter P. and Virginia Worland Scholarship, Matthew Quispe-Stephens; The Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship, Elise Gawrys, Xander Sokol; Hancock County Business and Professional Women, Maya McNeely; Custom Exteriors Scholarship, Addison Lockwood; Brewer-Culley VFW Post 2693 Scholarship, Emma Rappe; The Riley Charles Settergren Scholarship, Annelise Hiner and Callie Runyan; McCordsville Police Department Scholarship, Savannah Jouppi; Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Art), Karmen Kalal; Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Literature), Rachel Fentz; Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Music), Katie Bowsher; Tayler Helgason Nursing Memorial Scholarship, Chloe Albright; Roger’s Smile Scholarship, Asia King; Jack and Bev Falkenberg Memorial Scholarship, Emily Xiao; James Whitcomb Riley Festival Scholarship, Misha Patel; Richard and Judith White Memorial Scholarship, Chloe Albright and Adam Koon; Lee and Bessie S. Blazer Memorial Scholarship, Daniel Barnes; Judy D. Smith Memorial Scholarship, Tyler Hexamer;

Lilly Community Scholarship, Misha Patel; Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, Mya Adams; Tri Kappa Scholarship, Rachel Fentz and Annelise Hiner; Edith Zike Nursing Scholarship, Chloe Albright; Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship, Rachel Fentz, Emme Grubbs, Samantha Mabura, Emma Rappe and John Wilson; Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship, Tatum Mastin; The Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship, Elise Gawrys, Xander Jones, and Madelyn Meyer; Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship, Kalin Walpe; NineStar Connect Scholarship, Brooklyn Jacobson and Addison Lockwood; Earl J. Brooks and Irene B. Brooks Scholarship, Chloe Albright, Rachel Fentz, Emma Gasiorek, and Misha Patel; Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship, Kalin Wallpe; Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship, Rachel Fentz; George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship (Instrumental), Daniel Barnes; George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship (Vocal), Callie Runyan; Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship, Rachel Fentz; Donna Duzan Nursing Scholarship, Emma Rappe; Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship, Misha Patel; and Nucor Foundation Scholarship, Dawson Perry.

Top scholars included Dylan Anderson, Daniel Barnes, Kirsten Beaty, Adam Benz, Penelope Dearth, Emma Gasiorek, Elise Gawrys, Annelise Hiner, Jebediah Lottes, Sophie Maxwell, Misha Patel, Cameron Sullivan, Kalin Wallpe, Lily Wong and Seth Woolston.

The Senior Leadership Award went to Mya Adams and Rachel Fentz.