Houk to race at IMS, seeks sponsorship to complete season


McCordsville’s Ayrton Houk, competing in the USF Pro Championships racing series, will be racing next month at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and continue racing in Indy’s magical month of May with a race, coinciding with IndyCar Carb Day, on the oval at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

At the most recent USF Pro Championships event at NOLA Motorsports Park in New Orleans last weekend, Houk and the DC Autosport team showcased their resilience and determination, securing impressive results despite facing initial challenges.

In three races, Houk made significant moves up the grid after a tough go during qualifying.

Starting 13th in the opening race, and 17th in Race 2, he was able to charge through the field with a seventh-place finish in Race 1 and an 11th place finish in Race 2.

In Race 3, he navigated from a 15th place start to finish 13th.

The consistent pace and improvement has him sitting 10th in the championship standings.

Next up is the Indianapolis Grand Prix, at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway, May 9-11 for rounds 6 and 7 of the USF Pro Championship. And then, for round 8 of the championship, on the evening of the IndyCar Carb Day, Friday May 24, he will race on the oval at the Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Houk has raced on ovals in the Kenyon Midget Series.

Currently, Houk is only funded through round 8 of the 18 races in the USF2000 season, so the oval race may be his last of the 2024 season. He is actively seeking funding to be able to compete for the entire season and series championship.

There are three ways to partner with Ayrton; corporate sponsorship, purchasing shares in Ayrton Houk Racing, LLC and via tax-deductible donations to the Wings and Wheels Foundation. For more information about how to get involved, contact Ayrton at [email protected] or 317-410-2483.

For more information about Team WWF, please visit www.teamwwf.com or contact Briana Mulvihill at [email protected].

EH Sports

Royals to honor regional champs

The 2013 Eastern Hancock regional champion softball team will be inducted into the Eastern Hancock Athletics Hall of Fame prior to the varsity softball game vs. Randolph Southern on Thursday, April 25.

Game time is 5:30 p.m., with the induction ceremony to take place just prior to game time at 5:15 p.m.

Team members, coaches, and managers, will be recognized. They are requested to respond with their intentions to attend or direct any questions to the EH Athletic Boosters email account at [email protected], or by calling Greg Hall at 317-448-0866.

Pickleball fundraiser

The Eastern Hancock Athletic Boosters will be holding a Pickleball Tournament on Saturday, April 27 at 9 a.m. at the Eastern Hancock High School Tennis Courts.

The tournament will be all doubles play, with men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles divisions. There will be both recreational and competitive brackets, with three levels based on age.

Each team will be guaranteed a minimum of three matches. Cost is $100 per team, per event.

Registration and additional information is available online at public.eventlink.com/registrations?o=0c4f69d4-9574-4449-9e5f-5cfad27b0f19.

The deadline for entries is April 24, 2024. Please direct any questions to the EH Athletic Boosters email account at [email protected], or by calling Greg Hall at 317-448-0866.


Nine named to advisory board

Eighteen high school student-athletes from across the Hoosier State will serve next school year as members of the 2024-25 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee (SAC).

Nine juniors will join nine seniors beginning their second year with the group and will receive hands-on leadership experience through several IHSAA-sponsored events as well as serve as a voice to the IHSAA staff.

Each year, the IHSAA receives nominations from school principals on behalf of student-athletes from IHSAA member schools. From that group of nominations, 21 are selected for interviews by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee and returning members of the SAC. From those interviews, nine incoming juniors are invited to join the group of nine returning seniors.

Student-athletes who will serve as part of next school year’s committee include: Cooper Allen, Shenandoah; Danae Cline, South Putnam; Makena Cruse, Greenwood; Pierce Derrington, Floyd Central; Caleb Ferguson, Columbus North; Owen Fouts, Yorktown; Claire Hack, Jennings County; Charlie Hasenour, Forest Park; Lena Jones, Plymouth; Jace Martin, North Harrison; Grayson Mealy, Wes-Del; Bella Miller Krigger, University; Autumn Reif, North White; Reed Robinson, New Prairie; Tyler Stenger, East Central; Grier Swaim, Fishers; Sawyer Tippmann, Fort Wayne Snider; and Ali Ward, Boonville.

The SAC, which began in 2001-02, represents the entire IHSAA membership of 411 schools, and its structure reflects that of the IHSAA Board of Directors in terms of classification and districts.

With assistant commissioners Robert Faulkens and Kerrie Rosati administering, the SAC meets four times annually – twice each semester – and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers at the Fall Area Principals Meetings; assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship events throughout the school year, planning and administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference and to engage in and support the activities of Special Olympics Indiana including the Unified Track & Field and Unified Flag Football State Tournaments.

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain’s Handbook which is posted to IHSAA.org as well as assisting in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be utilized during 2024-25 state championships events.