Cross country tournament reduced


Mt. Vernon freshman Hannah Hauser (430) crosses the finish line at the semi-state cross country meet on October 22, 2022 at Blue River Cross Country Course in Shelbyville. The IHSAA is eliminating the semi-state round beginning next season. The cross country postseason will consist of sectional, regional and state competitions.

The Daily Reporter File Photo

Staff report

Earlier this month, the IHSAA Executive Committee voted to change the Boys and Girls Cross Country State Tournaments from a four-week format to a three-week format.

The decision was one of three rules proposals acted upon after being formally presented last month by the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches (IATCCC).

By an 11-6 vote, next fall’s state tournaments will be contested on three consecutive Saturdays and begin one week later than previously scheduled. Next season’s sectionals will now be on Saturday, Oct. 14, regionals on Saturday, Oct. 21, and the state finals on the same previously scheduled date of Saturday, Oct. 28.

Since 2014, the cross country tournaments had been run on four consecutive Saturdays with sectionals, regionals, semi-states and state finals. The new format calls for 25 sectionals and five regionals feeding into the state finals while eliminating the semi-state round.

The top five teams and top 15 individuals not on a qualifying team will advance from each round to the next. Host sites and sectional assignments will be announced this summer.

“Today was a culmination of several years of discussion around issues within the cross country tournaments,” said Commissioner Paul Neidig. “The three-week tournament will provide more balance at the sectional level, resulting in a more competitive state tournament. The new format will advance 42 additional runners in each race at the state finals. We greatly appreciate the partnership with the state coaches association in developing this new format.”

Two other proposals from the coaches association were unanimously approved including awarding medals to the top 25 finishers in both state meets and creating a common track entry platform that all meets must use throughout the season.

Edwards, Stultz are multi-winners

Luken Edwards and Anthony Stultz were part of multiple victories for the Anderson University swimming and diving team in a 136-21 dual meet victory over Bluffton at AU’s Bennett Natatorium.

Edwards, a freshman from Eastern Hancock High School, won the 100-yard freestyle (52.84 seconds) and 50 freestyle (23.93 seconds) and was part of victorious relays in the 200 medley (1:48.32) and 200 freestyle (1:40.64).

Stultz, a senior from New Palestine High School, won the 50 backstroke (32.16 seconds) and was part of the winning 200 free relay team. He was second in the 100 backstroke (1:10.58).

Brown to receive media award

Rob Brown, whose “profound, positive contribution” to his school as the leader of the Roncalli Media Network, will be presented the 2022-23 Distinguished Media Service Award for District 2.

Brown’s contributions to education-based athletics will be recognized on Friday night in Indianapolis when the Roncalli Royals host New Palestine in boys basketball.

IHSAA Commissioner Paul Neidig, Assistant Commissioner Kerrie (Schludecker) Rosati, and Sports Information Director Jason Wille will make the presentation. Brown hung up his headset last summer after 15 years to chase new adventures but left an indelible mark on Indiana high school sports and Roncalli High School in particular.

Known as a consummate professional for his broadcasts as the “Voice of the Royals” and as one of the state’s few high school sports information directors, Brown earned respect and gratitude from the school administration, coaches, players and Roncalli fans everywhere.

In 2007, at the request of a friend with the school, he agreed to broadcast 30 boys and girls basketball games for the school. A decade and a half later he had totaled nearly 900 broadcasts while adding duties for football, baseball and softball games in ensuing years.