General election ballots set


HANCOCK COUNTY – The list of candidates has been finalized for the upcoming general election, revealing multiple contests across county, town, township, school board, state and national positions.

The Hancock County Election Board recently approved ballots that will be available to voters in the coming weeks.

Democrat Frank Rock Jr. is challenging Republican incumbent Mary Noe for Hancock County Council District 2.

There’s a four-way race for three seats on the Buck Creek Township Board between Republicans Erin Harsin-Jordan, Matthew Kelly and Scott Whitehouse and Democrat Marian Hensley.

A four-way race for two at-large seats on McCordsville Town Council is set among Republicans Bryan Burney and Scott Jones and Democrats Linda Robinson and Andrea Yovanovich.

On the Mt. Vernon School Board, incumbents Kellie Freeman and Shannon Walls look to keep their at-large seats against Joshua Worth.

There’s also a contest on the Southern Hancock School Board between incumbent Jon Hooker and James (Jim) A. Buist II.

Democrat Donna L. Griffin is challenging Indiana Rep. Chris Jeter, R-Fishers, for Indiana House of Representatives District 88, which includes northwestern Hancock County.

Indiana House of Representatives District 54, containing Blue River Township in Hancock County’s southeastern corner, will be represented by Democrat Nan Polk or Republican Cory Criswell.

U.S. Sen. Todd Young, R-Indiana, faces Democrat Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. and Libertarian James M. Sceniak.

U.S. Rep. Greg Pence, the Republican representing Indiana’s Sixth Congressional District, faces Democrat Cynthia (Cinde) Wirth.

A secretary of state match-up is between Democrat Destiny Wells, Libertarian Jeffrey Maurer and Republican Diego Morales.

Another three-way race is for state auditor among incumbent Republican Tera Klutz, Democrat ZeNai Brooks and Libertarian John Andrew Schick.

The state treasurer’s race features Democrat Jessica McClellan and Daniel Elliot.

Several important election deadlines are coming up as well.

Sept. 24 is the deadline for the county election board to mail absentee ballots to voters who have already filed an approved application.

Voter registration can be completed at; the deadline is Oct. 11.

Early voting begins on Oct. 12 at the Hancock County Annex, 111 American Legion Parkway, and expands to other locations over the following weeks.

Candidates’ pre-election campaign finance reports are due Oct. 21.

Election Day is Nov. 8.


2022 General Election Candidates

County Prosecutor

Brent E. Eaton (R)

County Clerk

Lisa Eberhardt Lofgreen (R)

County Auditor

Debra A. Carnes (R)

County Recorder

Marcia R. Moore (R)

County Sheriff

Brad Burkhart (R)

County Surveyor

Chad E. Coughenour (R)

County Assessor

Katie Molinder (R)

County Commissioner District 2

Gary McDaniel (R)

County Council District 1

Jeannine Gray (R)

County Council District 2

Mary A. Noe (R)

Frank G. Rock Jr. (D)

County Council District 3

Jim Shelby (R)

County Council District 4

J. Scott Wooldridge (R)

Blue River Township Trustee

Brandon Jones (R)

Blue River Township Board

Daniel R. Engleking (R)

John. M. Gilbert (R)

Kathi A. Riggs (R)

Brandywine Township Trustee

Kevin Bates (R)

Brandywine Township Board

Cherie “Charlee” Burrow (R)

Marc Hill (R)

Beth Ray-Scott (R)

Brown Township Trustee

Theresa Ebbert (R)

Brown Township Board

Phyllis Collier-Vest (R)

Mark Grass (R)

Vergil Terry Kemp (R)

Buck Creek Township Trustee

Micki Simunek (R)

Buck Creek Township Board

Erin Harsin-Jordan (R)

Matthew Kelly (R)

Scott Whitehouse (R)

Marian Hensley (D)

Center Township Trustee

Steve Leonard (R)

Center Township Board

Fredrick L. Dunlevy (R)

Thomas Lopez (R)

Guy Titus (R)

Green Township Trustee

Stephanie Jones (R)

Green Township Board

William T. Jones II (R)

Mike Maroska (R)

Robert Michael Yeager (R)

Jackson Township Trustee

Tarra Youngclaus (R)

Jackson Township Board

Jason Effing (R)

Bob McDaniel (R)

Keith A. Wilson (R)

Sugar Creek Township Trustee

Jayson Combs (R)

Sugar Creek Township Board

Matt T. Holland (R)

Mark H. Mattes (R)

Marcia H. Parker (R)

Vernon Township Trustee

Florence May (R)

Vernon Township Board

Anthony Wayne Buechler (R)

Timothy Plank (R)

Marybeth Sears (R)

Fortville Town Council At Large

Fritz Fentz (R)

Fortville Town Council District 2

Ryan Rummell (R)

McCordsville Town Council At Large

Bryan Burney (R)

Scott Jones (R)

Linda Robinson (D)

Andrea Yovanovich (D)

Greenfield-Central School Board District 2

Clark Smith

Greenfield-Central School Board District 3

John H. Rihm

Mt. Vernon School Board At Large

Kellie Freeman

Shannon Walls

Joshua Worth

Eastern Hancock School Board At Large

Tammy Stunda

Eastern Hancock School Board District 1

Tammy Settergren

Southern Hancock School Board District 3 (at-large)

James (Jim) A. Buist II

Jon Hooker

Southern Hancock School Board District 5

Brian McKinney

U.S. Senator

Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. (D)

James M. Sceniak (L)

Todd Young (R)

Secretary of State

Destiny Wells (D)

Jeffrey Maurer (L)

Diego Morales (R)

Auditor of State

ZeNai Brooks (D)

John Andrew Schick (L)

Tera K. Klutz (R)

Treasurer of State

Jessica McClellan (D)

Daniel Elliott (R)

U.S. Representative District 6

Cynthia (Cinde) Wirth (D)

Greg Pence (R)

State Representative District 53

Robert W. Cherry (R)

State Representative District 54

Nan Polk (D)

Cory Criswell (R)

State Representative District 88

Donna L. Griffin (D)

Chris Jeter (R)

Indiana Court of Appeals Judicial Retention - Fifth District

Shall Judge Nancy H. Vaidik be retained in office?

Indiana Court of Appeals Judicial Retention - First District

Shall Judge Leanna K. Weissmann be retained in office?