State honors teacher of the year finalists


INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz recently announced 10 finalists for the 2016 Indiana Teacher of the Year award. The winner will be announced in October.

“The teachers we are recognizing … are among the best in the state and have demonstrated excellence and dedication to the teaching profession,” Ritz said in a news release. “It is with great pleasure that I honor their achievement.”

For more than 50 years, the Indiana Department of Education has conducted the Indiana Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state.

All school corporations are invited to participate in the recognition program by nominating one teacher to represent local educators at the state level of the program.

The Indiana Teacher of the Year selection committee, which is comprised of former Indiana Teachers of the Year, selects the new Indiana Teacher of the Year. The Indiana Teacher of the Year will represent Indiana teachers at the national level, in accordance with National Teacher of the Year guidelines.

The 2016 finalists are:

Lindsay Alessandrini, Spanish, Zionsville Community High School, Zionsville Community Schools

Sarah Awe, Grades 4 and 5 high-ability, Prairie Trace Elementary School, Carmel Clay Schools

Deborah Daugherty, Grade 7 science, Riverview Middle School, Huntington County Community School Corp.

Nicole Dolson, Grades 6 through 8 choir, New Augusta Public Academy North, MSD Pike Township

Joseph Glowacki, Grades 10 through 12 TV/media, Connersville High School, Fayette County School Corp.

Laura McCoy, Grades K through 5 music, Saint Joseph Central School, Fort Wayne Community Schools

Katherine McLaughlin, Grades K through 4 art, Pine Tree and Sycamore elementary schools, Avon Community School Corp.

Jean Russell, Grades K through 5 literacy specialist, Haverhill Elementary School, Southwest Allen County Schools

Carolyn Shryock, kindergarten, Knightstown Elementary School, Charles A. Beard Memorial School Corp.

Amy Wackerly, Grade 3 Center for Inquiry, Indianapolis Public Schools