State tourney begins March 3


Sectional pairings for the 105th Annual IHSAA Boys Basketball State Tournament.

4A Sectional 9 at New Castle

Tuesday, March 3

Richmond (19-3) vs. New Castle (8-10), 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 4

Pendleton Heights (17-5) vs. Connersville (13-9), 6 p.m.

Greenfield-Central (9-14) vs. Anderson (5-16), to follow

Friday, March 6

Mt. Vernon (11-8) vs. RI-NC winner, 6 p.m.

PH-CO winner vs. GC-AN winner, to follow

Saturday, March 7

Championship, 7:30 p.m.

Winner advances to Southport Regional


4A Sectional 13 at Whiteland

Tuesday, March 3

Whiteland (8-12) vs. Franklin Central (4-14), 6 p.m.

Center Grove (11-9) vs. New Palestine (10-10), to follow

Friday, March 6

Franklin (9-12) vs. WH-FC winner, 6 p.m.

Greenwood (3-18) vs. NP-CG winner, to follow

Saturday, March 7

Championship, 7 p.m.

Winner advances to Seymour Regional


2A Sectional 41 at Hagerstown

Tuesday, March 3

Eastern Hancock (10-11) vs. Union County (11-10), 7 p.m.

Wednesday, March 4

Knightstown (13-7) vs. Hagerstown (14-4), 6 p.m.

Centerville (11-8) vs. Cambridge City Lincoln (8-11), to follow

Friday, March 6

Northeastern (18-3) vs. EH-UC winner, 6 p.m.

KN-HA winner vs. CE-CCL winner, to follow

Saturday, March 7

Championship, 7:30 p.m.

Winner advances to Greenfield-Central Regional


About the state tournament

No. of Schools Entered: 397 teams, 5,823 participants.

By Class: 101 4A teams; 97 3A teams; 100 2A teams; 99 1A teams.

Total No. of Games: 393 games in 26 days.

Defending State Champions

4A: Indianapolis Arsenal Technical (Sectional 10 at Lawrence Central). 3A: Greensburg (hosts Sectional 29). 2A: Park Tudor (Sectional 42 at Indianapolis Shortridge). A: Marquette Catholic (Sectional 49 at Kouts).

Schools Playing Up One Class due to Tournament Success Factor: Bowman Academy (Class 3A, Sectional 17 at Hammond Gavit).

Most State Championships

8: Muncie Central.

7: Marion, Washington.

4: Frankfort, Lawrence North.

3: Anderson, Bloomington South, Carmel, Evansville Bosse, Franklin Community, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks, Lafayette Central Catholic, Lafayette Jefferson, Lebanon, Martinsville, Park Tudor, Pike.

All‐Time Consecutive Tournament Victories

27: Franklin Community, 1920‐22; Marion, 1985‐87.

24: Lawrence North, 2004‐07.

Active Consecutive Tournament Win Streaks

14: Greensburg, 2013‐14

7: Indianapolis Arsenal Technical, 2014.

6: Marquette Catholic, 2014; Park Tudor 2014.

Defending Sectional Champions 4A: Bloomington North, Brownsburg, Concord, Evansville Central, Fort Wayne North Side, Franklin Central, Hamilton Southeastern, Homestead, Indianapolis Arsenal Technical, Kokomo, Lake Central, LaPorte, New Albany, Penn, Pike, Richmond.

3A: Andrean, Bowman Academy, Crawfordsville, Edgewood, Evansville Memorial, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Greensburg, Guerin Catholic, Jasper, Muncie Central, NorthWood, Norwell, Silver Creek, South Bend St. Joseph, Tri‐West Hendricks, Twin Lakes.

2A: Austin, Cass, Clarksville, Fountain Central, Hammond Bishop Noll, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks, Linton‐Stockton, Northeastern, Park Tudor, Perry Central, Speedway, Tipton, Waphani, Westview, Winamac, Woodlan.

A: Barr‐Reeve, Clay City, Culver Community, Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian, Greenwood Christian, Indianapolis Metropolitan, Lafayette Central Catholic, Lanesville, Liberty Christian, Marquette Catholic, North White, Northeast Dubois, Oldenburg Academy, Rossville, Seton Catholic, Trinity Lutheran.

Schools that Won First Sectional Championship Last Year

4A: None.

3A: None.

2A: Northeastern.

A: Greenwood Christian, Oldenburg Academy, Seton Catholic.

Most Consecutive Sectional Championships

29 by Lafayette Jefferson, 1944‐72.

Active Sectional Championship Streaks (Three or more years)

13: Lafayette Central Catholic.

5: Andrean, Pioneer.

4: Kokomo, Norwell, Pike, Tipton.

3: Bowman Academy, Clay City, Edgewood, Greensburg, Liberty Christian, Speedway.

Top 10 All‐Time Sectional Championships

74: Kokomo.

70: Vincennes Lincoln.

68: Lafayette Jefferson.

66: Marion.

63: Richmond.

59: Muncie Central.

57: New Castle.

56: Connersville, Logansport.

51: Anderson, Valparaiso