The Sideline – July 1

G-C soccer to host foot golf tournament

The Cougars varsity soccer program will host a foot golf tournament Aug. 8 at the Shekinah Footgolf Course in Greenfield.

The cost is $15 per player if registered in advance or $20 at the door.

Sponsorship options are available. Donors can give $500 and will receive recognition prominently displayed at registration, on one tee and in all advertising. The other option is a $50 donation, which includes recognition displayed on one tee.

Tee times range from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For registration information, visit the Cougars’ athletics site at

•n n

Butler player to attend Pan American camp

USA Basketball announced Monday that 23 players have accepted invitations to take part in the 2015 U.S. Pan American Men’s Basketball Team training camp.

The event will be used to select the 12 players who will represent the United States at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto.

Among the athletes expected to participate in training camp is Kellen Dunham, a Pendleton Heights graduate and Butler University standout. He is the lone Hoosier native invited to attend.

Isaac Haas of Purdue, Nigel Hayes of Wisconsin, Malcom Hill of Illinois, Monte Morris of Iowa and Denzel Valentine of Michigan State will represent the Big Ten Conference.

The USA training camp will be conducted Tuesday through July 12 at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team Committee is responsible for selecting the U.S. Pan American Games men’s basketball players and coaches, which is approved by the U.S. Olympic Committee.

•n n

Hall of Fame announces officers, directors

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announced the election of new officers to serve two-year terms beginning today.

Sam Alford has been elected as president. A 2002 inductee, Alford, the father of famed Steve Alford, is a 1960 graduate of Washington High School and 1964 graduate of Franklin College.

Steve Witty has been elected as executive vice president. Dr. Ray Pavy, a 1990 inductee, remains treasurer of the Hall of Fame. Jerry Peirson has been elected as secretary.

Vance Meier of New Castle has been elected as the hall’s Henry County representative. He replaces Donald C. “Danny” Danielson, who held the Henry County representative post for 25 years prior to his death in May.

The complete list of officers for 2015-16:

President: Sam Alford (Washington/Franklin College)

Executive Vice President: Steve Witty (Center Grove/Franklin College)

Treasurer: Ray Pavy (New Castle/Indiana University)

Secretary: Jerry Peirson (Royerton/Miami (OH) University)

Past president: Jim Callane (Rushville/DePauw University)

Vice president North: Orvis “Shorty” Burdsall (Vincennes/Butler University)

Vice president Central: Carol Tumey (Leavenworth/Franklin College)

Vice president South: Donna Sullivan (Orleans/Indiana University)

At-large representative: Phil Isenbarger (Muncie North/Indiana University)

At-large representative: Amy Metheny (Southport/ Indiana University)

Henry County representative: Vance Meier (Oakland City University)

The hall’s board for 2015-16:

(All above officers)

Mark Baltz, Zionsville

Dr. Phil Borst, Indianapolis

Mike Broughton, Seymour

Jack Colescott, Gas City

Bobby Cox (IHSAA Commissioner seat), Carmel

Jim Fisher, Indianapolis

Mark Gabriel, Nashville

Dr. Steve Green, Indianapolis

Greg Humnicky, South Bend

Alan Nass, Huntingburg

Jim Powers Jr., Carmel

Randy Shields, Fishers

Al Tucker, Cloverdale

Bill Walker, Huntington

Judi Warren, Carmel