INDIANAPOLIS — The Hoosier State Press Association awarded photo of the year to Daily Reporter photographer Tom Russo for his photo, “After the fire,” during the organization’s annual newspaper awards ceremony Saturday.

The panel judging finalists said the photo, depicting victims of a house fire passing a damaged item between one another, stood out from all the other photo of the year finalists.

“A photo that not all photographers would be looking for,” panelists wrote.

The Daily Reporter fared well at the contest, bringing home 27 awards in its division. The daily newspaper received a first place award for general excellence in its division, an award given based on a points system for papers that “exemplify excellence in all aspects of newspaper publication, including mechanical excellence, editorial content, layout and general appearance,” according to a press release from the HSPA.

The Daily Reporter took home the following awards:

Best news coverage – no deadline

Second place: Noelle Steele and Samm Quinn, “Absent from jobs”

Best ongoing news coverage

Third place: Caitlin VanOverberghe and Daniel Morgan, “Jail overcrowding”

Best editorial writer

Second place: Rick Gotshall

Best business/economic news coverage

Second place: Daniel Morgan, “Building for the future”

Best short feature

Third place: Caitlin VanOverberghe, “Royal treatment”

Best profile feature

Third place: Christine Schaefer, “Bringing his world to life”

First place: Kristy Deer, “She survived”

Best in-depth feature/feature package

Second place: Noelle Steele, “The greatest gift”

Best sports news or feature coverage

Second place: Rich Torres, “Drawing strength”

First place: Rich Torres, “Running through the pain”

Best spot news photography

Third place: Tom Russo, “Sunburst fire”

First place: Tom Russo, “After the fire”

Best feature photo

Third place: Tom Russo, “Sunset harvest”

First place: Tom Russo, “First-day jitters”

Best multiple picture group

First place: Tom Russo, “Winning with class”

Best video/photo story

First place: Noelle Steele, Tom Russo, Kyle Lewis: “Winning with class”

Best editorial page:

Third place: Daily Reporter staff

Best use of graphics

Third place: Daily Reporter staff

Best feature section or pages:

Third place: Daily Reporter staff, religion section

Second place: Daily Reporter staff, Just 4 Fun section

Best business section or pages

First place: Daily Reporter staff

Best community service

Third place: Daily Reporter staff, “Spirit to Survive”

Second place: Caitlin VanOverberghe, “It tugs at your heart”

First place: Caitlin VanOverberghe, “Gap in our system”

Best newspaper design

Second place: Daily Reporter staff

General excellence

First place: Daily Reporter

Photo of the year:

Tom Russo: “After the fire”

About the Hoosier State Press Association

The Hoosier State Press Association, founded in 1933, is a trade association representing 167 daily and weekly paid-circulation newspapers in Indiana. HSPA provides legal information, training and other services to its members.