Daily Reporter staff reports

FORTVILLE — The 2015-16 Mt. Vernon Optimist Club Officer Installation Banquet was conducted Oct. 22 at the Fortville Community Center.

Board officers and directors inducted by special guest President Jean Seipel of the Anderson Optimist Chapter were Ted Bragdon (president), Jason Ratliff (first vice president), Brendan Fleming (past president), Audrey Yee (treasurer), Henry Yee (secretary), Jason Phillips, Mike Staton, Mark Johnson, Ron Milender, and in absentia: Jason Stamm (second vice president), Dale Eiler and Robert Jenkins.

Mark Johnson was recognized as 2014-15 Optimist of the Year, and appreciation awards were presented to Brendan Fleming (past president), Sandra Ratliff (sponsorship fundraising), and Blake Johnson (youth volunteer).

Story continues below gallery

The Mt. Vernon Optimist Club conducts youth baseball, basketball, soccer, and softball programs; supports academics with scholarship awards; sponsors students in essay and oratorical contests; volunteers in the community; and provides donations.