Stapleton, Gizzi invited to Top 60 workout


Staff report

Eastern Hancock’s Grace Stapleton and New Palestine’s Isabella Gizzi are among the 60 senior girls basketball players invited to participate in Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s 42nd Annual Top 60 Senior Workout.

The event is hosted by Hoosier Basketball Magazine in conjunction with the IHSAA and the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The two-session workout will be Sunday at Beech Grove High School.

The girls were selected from approximately 1,400 senior players statewide. Statistical evaluation, game observation and statewide research were conducted during the season and throughout the state tournament to determine Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 60.

Both are among the all-time great players at their respective schools.

Stapleton, a 5-6 point guard, led the Royals in scoring (15 points per game), assists (5.1) and steals (3.3). She set school single-season (85) and career records (202) for 3-pointers and became just the fourth member of the school’s 1,000-point club (1,110).

At 23.7 points per game, Gizzi ranked eighth in the state. She averaged 5.8 rebounds and 2.6 steals to go with a team-best 49 3’s.

During her senior season, Gizzi became the school’s all-time leading scorer (1,676). She surpassed her mother, NP head coach Sarah (Haynes) Gizzi (1,172) during the regular season. In sectional play, she became the school’s all-time basketball scoring champ by exceeding her brother, Maximus Gizzi (1,612).

Half of the Top 60 girls, primarily from northern and southern Indiana, will participate in the first session (1-3 pm). The remaining players, primarily from central Indiana, will compete during the second session (3:30-5:30 pm).

The Top 60 Senior Workout includes the state’s top three scorers. The top two scorers are both headed to Indiana State University— Asia Donald, Hobart (26.7 ppg) and Saige Stahl, Columbus East (26)— followed by Gloria Brewer, Greencastle (25.5). Western Kentucky recruit Nevaeh Foster, Mishawaka Marian (25.1) was selected, but is unable to attend. Four other high scorers averaged over 22 ppg including Ashlynn Brooke, Pioneer (23.8), a Ball State recruit; Isabella Gizzi, New Palestine (23.7), committed to St. Francis; Caitlyn Campbell, Winchester (23.1); Laila Hull, Zionsville (23.2), signed with North Carolina and Bailey Tabeling, Trinity Lutheran (22.2), headed to Ohio University.

There are seven players that participated in the 2023 IHSAA State Finals including four state champion players— Karsyn Norman of Class 4A Bedford North Lawrence (Butler), Brea Garber of 3A Fairfield (Indiana Wesleyan), Amber Tretter of 2A Forest Park (Miami-Ohio) and Linzie Wernert of 1A Lanesville. Fishers, 4A runner-up, has Hailey and Olivia Smith, both will attend Ball State next fall. Ava Weber of AAA runner-up Corydon Central, was selected, but is unable to attend.

Others heading to Hoosierland Division I Universities include Riley Makalusky, Hamilton Southeastern (Butler), Renna Schwieterman, Jay County (Fort Wayne), Rashunda Jones, South Bend Washington (Purdue), McKenna Layden, Northwestern (Purdue), Layla Gold, Indianapolis Cathedral (Valparaiso). Valparaiso signees Nevaeh and Saniya Jackson, Fort Wayne Northrop, were selected but are unable to attend. Of note: Two players that are injured and unable to participate include Amiyah Reynolds, South Bend Washington (Maryland) and Josie Trabel, East Central (Wofford).

Former state champion coach DeeAnn Ramey (North Central-Marion) will direct both sessions. Other outstanding Indiana girls’ high school coaches from the IBCA have been invited to join the 2023 Top 60 staff— Jeff Brooke (Pioneer), Ethan Cook (Tri), Kathie Layden (Northwestern), Stacy Mitchell (Warren Central) and Amy Selk (Beech Grove).

Both sessions are open to the public for admission fee of $8 ($5 for students).

Class of 2023 Top 60 Senior Girls

Tori Allen, Andrean; Trinity Archey, North Central (Marion); Lauren Barker, Columbus North; Asiah Baxter, Warren Central; Giavonnie Belton, Pike; Savanna Bischoff, Center Grove; Gloria Brewer, Greencastle; Ashlynn Brooke, Pioneer; Olivia Brown, Hamilton Southeastern; Amiyah Buchanan, Evansville North; Caitlyn Campbell, Winchester; Ally Capouch, Kouts; Cristen Carter, Ben Davis; Maci Chamberlin, Blue River Valley; Asia Donald, Hobart; Taylor Double, Huntington North; Kelsey DuBois, University; Julia Economou, Penn; Eva Fisher, Northridge; Abby Fleetwood, Indian Creek; Taylor Fordyce, Carroll (Allen); Brea Garber, Fairfield; Isabella Gizzi, New Palestine; Layla Gold, Indianapolis Cathedral; Lizzie Graham, Triton Central; Taylor Guess, Ben Davis; Nakiya Harris, North Central (Marion); Sydney Horton, Roncalli; Laila Hull, Zionsville; Kyndell Jochim, Franklin; Rashunda Jones, South Bend Washington; Sydney Keane, Bellmont; Bailey Kelham, Garrett; Hannah Lach, Carmel; McKenna Layden, Northwestern; Caroline Long, Western; Riley Makalusky, Hamilton Southeastern; Reagan Martin, Owen Valley; Emily Mattingly, Evansville Memorial; Kaydence Mellott, Tippecanoe Valley; Annaka Nelson, Fort Wayne Concordia; Karsyn Norman, Bedford North Lawrence; Bailey Parham, Tri; Abby Parsons, Cascade; Makaya Porter, Mishawaka Marian; Ashlee Schram, Tipton; Renna Schwieterman, Jay County; Hailey Smith, Fishers; Olivia Smith, Fishers; Saige Stahl, Columbus East; Grace Stapleton, Eastern Hancock; Ali Stephens, Homestead; Hannah Stutsman, Scottsburg; Bailey Tabeling, Trinity Lutheran; Kailyn Terrell, Brownsburg; Sanaa Thomas, Warren Central; Tori Thompson, Lafayette Central Catholic; Amber Tretter, Forest Park; Madi Vice, Central Noble; Liv Waters, Blackford; Linzie Wernert, Lanesville; Monica Williams, Lawrence North

SELECTED BUT UNABLE TO PARTICIPATE DUE TO INJURY: Riley Flinn, Harrison (West Laf); Amiyah Reynolds, SB Washington; Lilly Toppen, Kankakee Valley; Josie Trabel, East Central

SELECTED BUT UNABLE TO ATTEND: Ava Couch, North Central (Marion); Nevaeh Foster, Mishawaka Marian; Nevaeh Jackson, Fort Wayne Northrop; Saniya Jackson, Fort Wayne Northrop; Ava Weber, Corydon Central