Sports Sideline: New Pal’s Smith to be honored by ISSA for sports broadcasting


For the 26th year, the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association will honor its Hall of Fame Class on April 10 during its annual banquet at Valle Vista Country Club in Greenwood.

In addition, the ISSA will recognize its Marv Bates Sportscaster of the Year, Corky Lamm Sportswriter of the Year (Kyle Neddenriep, Indy Star), Bob Williams Helping Hand Award recipient (Ray Simmons, University of Southern Indiana) and Ron Lemasters Lifetime Achievement Award winner (Tom Kubat, Lafayette Journal & Courier).

New Palestine’s Andrew Smith will be honored as Sportscaster of the Year.

Smith serves as the voice of New Pal (Sports) Radio at New Palestine High School where he works as an educator and sports information director. Smith is also the voice of the Indy Fuel and was named the East Coast Hockey League’s broadcaster of the year in 2021. Prior to teaching, Smith served as a sports reporter and editor in Greencastle and at The Daily Reporter for 10 years.

The 2022 induction class includes: Dave Calabro (WTHR-TV), Eric Hansen (South Bend Tribune), Jeff Jeffers (WNDU-TV), Barry Lewis (Crawfordsville Journal-Review), Rob Weaver (WPGW Radio) and David Woods (Indy Star).

Tickets for the event are available with meal included at $30 person. To purchase, send a check to Fred Inniger, ISSA treasurer, 3011 Noble Hawk Dr., Kendallville, IN. 46755.

Fevers’ Sullivan to appear at MVHS

On Thursday night, the voice of the Indiana Fever will become the voice of the Marauders.

Shawn Sullivan, the public address announcer for the Indiana Pacers, Fever and Indy Eleven, will handle event announcing duties during the Mt. Vernon girls basketball team’s regular-season finale against HHC foe Delta.

The game is set to tip at 7:30 p.m. and will include several fan activities with Sullivan on the mic.

MV hoops fans are encouraged to attend and enjoy the festivities as the Marauders wrap up their final game before sectional play next week.

IBCA Girls Basketball Poll

Sunday, Jan. 23

Rank, School;Pts;Record

1. Homestead;397;19-1

2. Franklin Community;365;20-1

3. Crown Point;344;18-2

4. SB Washington;339;19-2

5. Bedford N. Lawrence;327;18-2

6. Noblesville;280;17-4

7. North Central (Indpls);245;18-5

8. Westfield;227;17-4

8. Fishers;227;16-4

8. Silver Creek;227;20-1

11. Ft. Wayne Snider;193;15-3

12. Columbus East;158;16-3

13. Lake Central;140;19-3

14. Benton Central;139;22-1

15. Columbia City;102;18-1

16. Garrett;93;21-1

16. Zionsville;93;15-6

18. East Central;63;18-4

19. Mishawaka Marian;50;17-5

20. Carmel;35;13-7

Other Schools Receiving Votes (records): Ben Davis (12-7), Blue River Valley (18-2), Castle (15-4), Evansville North (15-3), Hamilton Southeastern (13-7), Huntington North (16-4), Jennings County (16-4), Lafayette Central Catholic (17-4), Lake Station Edison (14-6), Lanesville (21-1), Northridge (18-5), Penn (15-6), South Central-Union Mills (22-0), University (17-2), Valparaiso (16-4), Waldron (19-1), Warsaw (15-6), Washington (18-3), Winchester (19-1).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here