One More Match: Dragons’ Schwier named Indiana tennis all-star; HHC honors student-athletes


HANCOCK COUNTY — The accolades continue to roll in for the New Palestine boys tennis team.

Weeks after the Dragons captured their first team sectional championship since 2018, the program’s No. 1 singles player, senior Ezra Schwier, netted a pair of distinctions this past month.

Named to the 2021 All-Hoosier Heritage Conference boys tennis team, as a singles player, on Oct. 15, along with three more Dragons, Schwier was recently invited to compete in the Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association’s 2021 Indiana Boys All-Star match.

The IHSTECA all-star event will be conducted on Saturday, Nov. 6 at the Community Sports and Wellness Center in Pendleton. The showcase tennis match will include all-stars from four different regions from across the state.

Schwier was a two-time Hancock County individual singles champion in his prep career and competed in the IHSAA’s individual state tournament as a junior in 2020.

“He became goal orientated and spent the extra time to improve his game (prior to this season). Ezra is a wonderful role model for the younger players, showing them what hard work and determination can accomplish,” New Palestine boys tennis coach Jean Graham said. “He is a team player whose accomplishments are well deserved.”

This fall, the New Palestine boys tennis team claimed its 18th sectional title in program history, beating host Mt. Vernon 4-1, in the finals on Oct. 1. The victory improved the Dragons’ record to 18-3 in dual matches.

The Dragons went on to contend in the North Central Regional against Heritage Christian, winning 3-2. The team’s regional semifinal win was the second in program history for New Palestine.

The Dragons’ season ended in the regional final at the Indianapolis Racquet Club during the IHSAA team state tournament against No. 5 North Central, 5-0, on Oct. 7. The New Palestine boys tennis team finished the season with a 19-4 record.

Schwier battled in a 6-2, 6-2 loss during the regional finals against the eventual, state-singles runner-up Alex Antonopoulos of North Central. He also lost in a super-tiebreaker during the regional semifinals, 6-0, 6-7 (1), 10-6.

Now, Schwier will get the opportunity to compete for one more win as a high school singles player during the all-star match.

Four Dragons make All-HHC team

The HHC champion Delta Eagles had six athletes named to the all-conference boys tennis team this season, but the New Palestine Dragons weren’t too far behind.

Schwier and fellow senior Colin Darley were both selected as singles players to the 2021 All-HHC team, while Dragons’ Jackson Havel and Clayton Wesley were also picked as a doubles tandem.

Dragons coach Jean Graham was named the HHC Coach of the Year after guiding the program to a second-place finish in the league and the program’s first sectional title in three years.

Other All-HHC singles players selected were: Trent Alfrey, New Castle; Adam Koon, Mt. Vernon; Adam Altobella, Delta and Owen Vest, Delta.

The other doubles representatives included: Dalton Royal/Walker Boyle, Delta; Jack Weidner/Corbin Tilley, Greenfield-Central and Ethan Darby/Raphael Sabijon, Yorktown.

Marauders, Dragons earn All-HHC honors

A total of three Mt. Vernon Marauders and three New Palestine Dragons were named to the 2021 All-HHC volleyball team on Tuesday.

Four student-athletes from the HHC champion Yorktown Tigers were selected to lead the 15-player group.

Yorktown’s Stephanie Bloom was named HHC Coach of the Year.

The 2021 All-HHC volleyball team included: Emily Reno, Delta; Cecilia Bulmahn, Mt. Vernon; Rylee Ugen, Mt. Vernon; Abby Herman, Mt. Vernon; Reagan Kleiman, New Palestine; Grace Myers, New Palestine; Lauren Wilson, New Palestine; Avery Ross, Pendleton Heights; Ramsey Gary, Pendleton Heights; Olivia Wright, Pendleton Heights; Emma Nolley, Shelbyville; Ava Eakins, Yorktown; Emilee Hill, Yorktown; Charlotte Vinson, Yorktown and Addi Applegate, Yorktown.

EH’s Hunt, Retherford honored

The Eastern Hancock volleyball team received a pair of 2021 All-Mid-Eastern Conference first-team selections this month. Lili Hunt and Megan Retherford were two of 17 student-athletes named to the All-MEC squad.

Other All-MEC volleyball team members included: Reece Baker, Wapahani; Macie Bowden, Wapahani; Chloe Cook, Wapahani; Camryn Wise, Wapahani; Emi Isom, Daleville; Audrey Voss, Daleville; Emma Clark, Cowan; Lexi Conatser, Monroe Central; Deserae Harrison, Randolph Southern; Kylie Antrim, Wes-Del; Tori Clements, Wes-Del; Claire Price, Wes-Del; Ally Madden, Blue River Valley; Hannah Zody, Shenandoah and Honour Ellis, Union.

Eleven country players named All-HHC

Hancock County was well represented on the 2021 All-HHC boys soccer team this week.

The co-HHC champion Greenfield-Central Cougars and New Palestine Dragons received a combined eight selections — four each. The Mt. Vernon Marauders were awarded three spots.

The Cougars, Dragons, Yorktown Tigers and Pendleton Heights Arabians all tied for the HHC title this season. Yorktown’s Shane Guinn, Pendleton Heights’ Kyle Davy and New Palestine’s Brett Canova were all named co-HHC Coaches of the Year.

The All-HHC boys soccer team included: Delta’s Zion Griffis and Aidan Pierce; G-C’s John Halvorsen, Bryce Kinnaman, Hunter Stine and Tyler Kerkhof; Mt. Vernon’s Jordan Small, Zach Johnson and Tyler Webb; New Castle’s Ian Thurlow; New Palestine’s Elliott Canova, Garrett Canova, Alex Richwine and Ethan Windham; Pendleton Heights’ William Phillips, Kam Kail, Cole Bubalo and Grant Koperczak; Shelbyville’s Brayden Basey and Rey Bramasco; and Yorktown’s Aden Lovelace, Jackson Furnish, Clay Kruger and Nicholas Romano.

Marauders lead All-HHC team

The HHC champion Mt. Vernon Marauders paced the 24-player all-conference girls soccer team this season with six selections.

New Palestine and Greenfield-Central each received four selections. Mt. Vernon’s Aaron Britt and Shelbyville’s Chelsea Dourson were named co-HHC Coaches of the Year.

The All-HHC girls soccer team included: Delta’s Addie Chester; Greenfield-Central’s Jessica Merritt, Courtney Vaughn, Kayln Moss and Sarah Contrarez; Mt. Vernon’s Maddie Swingle, Shay Shipley, Bri Hale, Lily Wilson, Ellie Gawrys and Kylie Brandes; New Castle’s Maggie Lewis; New Palestine’s Allie Blum, Sydney Miller, Tylar Whitaker and Anna Luker; Pendleton Heights’ Isabelle Phillips, Kaitlyn Prickett and Katie Coleman; Shelbyville’s Sophie Parker, Evelyn Keifer and Ava Wilson; and Yorktown’s Chloe Mariotti and Hayley Reece.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here