Jefferson County 3rd-grade teacher is Kentucky's 2015 Teacher of the Year

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





FRANKFORT, Kentucky — Kentucky's 2015 Teacher of the Year is a Jefferson County third-grade teacher, Sarah M. Reed.

The announcement was made Thursday during a ceremony in the state Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort. Gov. Steve Beshear participated along with Education and Workforce Development Secretary Tom Zawacki, Education Commissioner Terry Holliday and Ashland Inc. Chairman and CEO Jim O'Brien.

Reed teaches at Field Elementary School. She will represent Kentucky in national competition.

The Middle School Teacher of the Year is Campbell County Middle School mathematics teacher Faye Smith, and Mason County High School chemistry teacher Joshua C. Underwood is High School Teacher of the Year.

They joined 21 other teachers from Kentucky who were presented Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.

Ashland has given the awards annually since 1988. Recipients receive cash awards and certificates.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528