First day of classes for 6 new suburban school districts in Shelby County

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




MEMPHIS, Tennessee — It's the first day of classes for new public school systems in six Memphis suburbs.

Classes began Monday in Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland and Millington.

After a federal court battle and the creation of a state law that cleared the way for the new school districts, suburban residents voted to start their own individual school systems in July 2013. They were seeking to avoid the consolidation of Memphis City Schools and the county's school system. The merged system existed for only the 2013-2014 school year.

The new systems give Shelby County eight school districts. Along with the six suburbs, classes also began Monday for Shelby County Schools, which covers the city of Memphis and areas outside the suburbs, and the Achievement School District.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528