Alabama, Missouri place 7 players each on coaches All-SEC teams; Tide has 5 first-teamers

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)






BIRMINGHAM, Alabama — Alabama and Missouri each placed seven players on the coaches All-Southeastern Conference teams.

The league released the All-SEC teams on Tuesday and will announce individual award winners Wednesday.

The SEC champion and top-ranked Crimson Tide placed five players on the first team, including Heisman Trophy finalist Amari Cooper, linebacker Trey DePriest, offensive lineman Arie Kouandjio, safety Landon Collins and punter JK Scott.

Mississippi State's Dak Prescott is the first-team quarterback.

Twelve of the 14 SEC teams had at least one player on the first-team.

Auburn center Reese Dismukes, Florida's Vernon Hargreaves and Mississippi's Cody Prewitt were first-team selections for the second straight year. Missouri's Marcus Murphy was honored as both an all-purpose player and return specialist.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528