Oklahoma's Mayfield, Penn State's Nassib, Washington State's Falk are Burlsworth finalists

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





    FAYETTEVILLE, Arkansas — Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib and Washington State quarterback Luke Falk are the three finalists for the Burlsworth Award that's given annually to the top college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

    The award is named for former Arkansas Razorback offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth and will be presented on Dec. 7.

    Mayfield leads the Big 12 Conference in passing touchdowns with 33 this season, and he's first national in passing efficiency, while Nassib leads the country with 15.5 sacks — including at least one in every game this season.

    Falk leads the country in passing yards per game with 387.8, and he's thrown 36 touchdowns and only eight interceptions.

    East Carolina's Justin Hardy won the award last year.

    All content copyright ©2015 Daily Reporter, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
    All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
    Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528