Alaska Senate approves new committee to address federal overreach

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





JUNEAU, Alaska — Alaska's Senate voted unanimously to create a special committee to address what the move's backers call federal overreach.

The Senate passed a resolution from the Senate Rules Committee on Monday to create a Senate Special Committee on Federal Overreach.

The resolution calls for the new committee to submit reports to the Senate in January 2016 and 2017 about how to use state authority to oppose what it calls the unconstitutional exercises of federal power. The reports also are supposed to address how Alaska can work with other states on such issues.

The resolution suggests the governor form a working group to create a new organization focused on state-federal relations.

The resolution would create a five-member committee that terminates in January 2017. Costs are expected to be absorbed in the legislative budget.

Members appointed Monday were Sens. John Coghill, Mike Dunleavy, Cathy Giessel, Dennis Egan and Bill Wielechowski.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528