SEC coaches honor Kentucky's John Calipari, Arkansas' Bobby Portis with top league awards

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




BIRMINGHAM, Alabama — Southeastern Conference coaches named Arkansas' Bobby Portis player of the year and awarded coaching honors to Kentucky's John Calipari.

The top-ranked Wildcats received several other awards from the league coaches on Tuesday. Willie Cauley-Stein was named defensive player of the year, Karl-Anthony Towns as the top freshman and Devin Booker as the best sixth man.

Alabama's Levi Randolph, a graduate student with a 3.75 GPA, is the SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Portis is averaging 17.8 points, 8.7 rebounds and 1.5 blocks. He's the first Razorbacks player to win the award since Corliss Williamson in 1994 and 1995.

Calipari has led Kentucky to a 31-0 record, the SEC's longest winning streak.

Towns is averaging 9.7 points and a team-high 6.6 rebounds.

Booker scores 10.9 points off the bench.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528