Spanish Vuelta riders face 10 summit finishes this year, one more than last year

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




MADRID — Spanish Vuelta riders will face 10 summit finishes this year, one more than last year.

Organizers on Saturday unveiled the route for the 21-stage event from Aug. 20-Sept. 11, a race that again will provide a high level of difficulty that should favor strong climbers.

The Vuelta will begin with a team time trial in the northwestern region of Galicia, and finish with a flat stage in the capital of Madrid. For the first time, it will pass through the mountains of Aubisque, in French territory, and will also return to Bilbao in Spain's Basque region.

The route includes a 39-kilometer (24-mile) individual time trial. Riders will have two rest days to complete the 3,277-kilometer (2,036-mile) event.

Italy's Fabio Aru won his first Spanish Vuelta last year.

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Reporter, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528