Daily Reporter logo

Prep Notes: EH's Overleese earns IBCA's Aikman award

Follow Daily Reporter:

Eastern Hancock senior Skyler Overleese was chosen as one of four winners of the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association’s Pat Aikman Character and Leadership Award Tuesday.

Tanner Davis of Wapahani, Caleb Gabler of Mishawaka and Daisy Heath of Hebron were also selected as recipients of the award, named for the former Indiana All-Star game director and former IBCA Coordinator of Special Projects.

Success and contributions in basketball, scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities and service to school and community are among the criteria for the Aikman Scholarship.

Also, those considered for the Aikman Scholarship are student-athletes who plan to enter the fields of journalism, sports management, athletic training or physical therapy.

The IBCA awards a grant of $750 to each recipient.

“Skyler is a great kid who has worked extremely hard in everything she has accomplished thus far,” EH girls basketball coach Jeremy Powers said of Overleese, who is also a member of the Royals’ softball team. “Her work ethic and desire to be successful will take her a long way in the future.”

Thirty-six Indiana high school seniors were been presented with 2014 scholarship awards from the IBCA Tuesday.


Monday, the IHSAA Board of Directors approved by an 18-1 vote moving up the start of the girls basketball season by one week.

Effective July 1, 2015, the first practice date, first authorized contest date as well as the dates of the state tournament will each be one week earlier to allow the entire girls basketball state tournament to be played separate from the boys state tournament.

In turn, the decision will also ensure the girls state finals will be played in Indianapolis. It was announced in March that the girls finals will return to Bankers Life Fieldhouse beginning next season.

Also, by a 15-4 vote the IHSAA approved an increase in the number of season contests permitted in boys and girls basketball from 20 games to 22 games.


In an on-court rule change by the National Federation of State High School Associations, players standing along the lane in marked spaces during a free throw will be able to move into the lane when the ball is released by the shooter.

This change is in effect for the 2014-15 season. Previously, players could not release until the ball touched the ring or backboard or until the free throw ended.

The NFHS rules committee also expanded the definition of an intentional foul, which now states that an intentional foul is “excessive contact with an opponent while the ball is live or until an airborne shooter returns to the floor.”

The rule change is aimed at reducing subjectivity on intentional foul rulings.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Reporter, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528