Daily Reporter logo

NP's Morris District II IBCA/Subway Player of the Week

Follow Daily Reporter:

Press Release by Indiana Basketball Coaches Association

Andrews' big game earns Players of the Week honors

Tippecanoe Valley junior headlines IBCA/Subway winners for week of Jan. 28-Feb. 2

Tanner Andrews' performance in a record-setting game makes the Tippecanoe Valley junior the headliner for this week's IBCA/Subway Players of the Week.

The 6-3 forward poured in 51 points and grabbed 31 rebounds as the Vikings defeated Wabash 146-56, allowing him to command attention and claim the boys' District 1 award in the program overseen by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Andrews is joined by New Palestine senior Michael Morris, Evansville Bosse junior JaQuan Lyle, Fort Wayne Canterbury junior Kindell Fincher, Brownsburg senior Stephanie Mavunga and Evansville Mater Dei sophomore Tori Schickel as honorees for the week of Jan. 28-Feb. 2.

Andrews averaged 38.0 points over two games as Tippecanoe Valley improved to 14-2. He began his week with a 25-point effort in a 57-50 victory over Maconaquah. Then in a game that produced a multitude of offensive records, Andrews made 24 field goals en route to his 51-point performance where he played just three quarters.

Morris and Lyle picked up accolades for boys' Districts 2 and 3, respectively.

The 6-6 Morris averaged 31.5 points and 5.0 rebounds in leading New Palestine (13-4) claim victories over Shelbyville and Mooresville. First, Morris scored 31 points with four rebounds on 11-of-18 shooting (3-of-9 3-pointers) and 6-of-6 free throws in a 66-52 win over the Golden Bears. He followed with 32 points and six rebounds in a 78-50 triumph over the Pioneers. In that contest, Morris sank 12-of-13 shots from the floor, including a school-record 8-of-9 3-pointers.

Lyle helped Evansville Bosse move to 14-3 by averaging 23.0 points and 10.0 rebounds over two games. The 6-4 slasher started his week by netting 16 points with six rebounds and five assists in a 60-54 victory over Owensboro, Ky. Lyle then produced 30 points and 14 rebounds as the Bulldogs knocked off Evansville North 85-70. In the latter game, he made 10-of-17 shots from the field and 10-of-13 from the line.

The girls' winners were Fincher in District 1, Mavunga in District 2 and Schickel in District 3.

Fincher, a 5-10 wing, was cited after leading Fort Wayne Canterbury to a 74-61 victory at Carmel in its only game of the week. The Xavier University commit scored 22 points and grabbed 21 rebounds in helping the Cavaliers improve to 18-3. Fincher was 9-of-18 from the field, including 1-of-4 3-pointers, with 3-of-4 free throws.

The 6-3 Mavunga also did significant work on the boards, averaging 23.0 points and 17.0 rebounds over two games for Brownsburg (17-3). First, the North Carolina recruit dropped in 32 points and grabbed 19 rebounds in a 55-52 victory over Lebanon. She followed with 14 points and 15 rebounds as the Bulldogs defeated Brebeuf Jesuit 58-44. Over the two games, Mavunga made 19-of-32 shots and 8-of-12 free throws.

Schickel helped Evansville Mater Dei to a 70-47 triumph over Castle in its only game of the week. The 6-2 sophomore forward scored 30 points while adding 17 rebounds, five steals and two assists as the Wildcats closed their regular season at 21-2.

This is the fifth season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the first season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a primary sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its third season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to "play hard and eat fresh."

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA's three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 2. Boys winners be selected from now through the week following March 23.


Other nominees for Week 13 (2012-13)

    District 1 boys — V.J. Beachem, New Haven; James Blackmon Jr., Fort Wayne Luers; Jared Bloom, Elkhart Memorial; D.J. Buschman, North White; Nick Filipek, Whiting; Bryce Guse, LaCrosse; Franko House, Concord; Tyler Jenkins, Fremont; Ryan Kupferschmid, Elkhart Christian; Mack Mercer, Plymouth; Justin Mitchell, Fort Wayne Wayne; John Mosser, Valparaiso; Noah Reed, Huntington North; Dwight Richards, Fort Wayne North; Clay Yeo, Triton; Zach Zurcher, NorthWood.

    District 1 girls — Lindsay Baker, Warsaw; Calli Beezhold, Covenant Christian (DeMotte); Ashley Campbell, Oregon-Davis; Jayla Crump, Kouts; Andrijana Cvitkovic, Culver Academy; Lauren Ehle, Woodlan; Nicole Faur, Lakewood Park; Alyssa Gibson, Fort Wayne Dwenger; Rachel Jennings, Logansport; KiLee Knafel, Wawasee; Morgan Lang, North Newton; Kylie Mason, Triton; Nicki Monahan, Portage; Kayla Prochno, Argos; Meredith Shipman, Fort Wayne Snider; Tashala Surtoris, Fort Wayne Luers; Loren Vukovits, Glenn.

    District 2 boys — Jabriel Allen, Muncie Central; Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor; C.J. Coleman, Mt. Vernon (Fortville); Jalen Coleman, Cathedral; Devin Davis, Warren Central; J.C. Faubion, Lutheran; Zak Irvin, Hamilton Southeastern; Anthony Jones, Speedway; Carlos Knox, Cardinal Ritter; Aaron Korn, Frankton; Max Kurkowski, Plainfield; A.J. Lawton, Westfield; Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech; C.J. McMann, Western Boone; Cole Murray, Delphi; Adam Schroeder, Seton Catholic; Basil Smotherman, Lawrence North; P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit; Zavier Turner, Pike; Josh VanMeter, Norwell; Tanner Watkins, Lapel.

    District 2 girls — Laken Chaney, Norwell; Lauren DeSutter, Tri-West; Sara Dickey, Riverton Parke; Celeste Edwards, North Central; Emily Harrison, Western Boone; Alex Hochstedler, Fishers; Kirsten Irvine, Seeger; Maya Meredith, Cathedral; Jill Morrison, Winchester; Grace Palmieri, West Lafayette; Kayla Pruitt, Indianapolis Washington; Taya Reimer, Hamilton Southeastern; Caitlin Tolen, Benton Central; Dakota Weatherford, Hamilton Heights; J.J. Williams, Carmel.

    District 3 boys — Darryl Baker, Jeffersonville; Calvin Blank, Terre Haute North; Justin Conrad, Charlestown; Everett Duncan, Evansville Harrison; Adam Eads, Shelbyville; Sawyer Glick, Columbus North; Bryan Hoeing, Batesville; Kourtlandt Martin, Evansville Central; Charles Peterson, Connersville; Jared Prange, Morristown; Trevor Selburg, Edgewood; Troy Spears, Martinsville; Tyler Truesdel, Bloomington North; Tyler Ward, Heritage Hills; Luke Wykoff, Mitchell.

    District 3 girls — Olivia Crozier, Madison; Emily Cumberworth, South Ripley; Kendyl Dearing, Southridge; Samantha Dewey, Triton Central; Nicole Dodd, Northeast Dubois; Maria Gugliotta, North Knox; Jenna Hountz, East Central; Kaebra LaGrange, Heritage Hills; Jordan Like, Pike Central; Jenna Meyer, North Decatur; Sasha Robinson, Brown County; Sophie Sears, Paoli; Kelsey Smith, Scottsburg; Kristal Smith, Monrovia; Annie Thomas, Southwestern (Shelby); Lauren Weidman, Center Grove; Maren Witte, Castle.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Reporter, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528