What to watch 4

32nd Annual Hancock County Track & Field Meet

When: Wednesday, 5 p.m.

Where: Greenfield-Central High School

Who: Eastern Hancock, Greenfield-Central, Mt. Vernon, New Palestine

2012 Boys Results:

1. Greenfield-Central 91

2. Mt. Vernon 76

3. New Palestine 63

4. Eastern Hancock 14

2012 Girls Results

1. Mt. Vernon 92

2. New Palestine 72

3. Greenfield-Central 57

4. Eastern Hancock 23


Four Things to Watch


1. Which records could fall?

Earlier this season at the Joe Schott Invitational, Greenfield-Central sophomore Regan Lewis established a new school record in the high jump at five feet, eight inches. Lewis, who placed fifth at state as a freshman, previously shared the old mark of 5-7 with Christine Essington. Essington set the current meet record of 5-5 in 1982. Wednesday’s forecast calls for mostly sunny skies and winds less than 10 mph, meaning conditions will be ripe for Lewis to leap Essington once more.

A year ago at this meet, Mt. Vernon sophomore Olivia Coleman announced herself to the county track scene by winning the 400 in 1:00.50 — within striking distance of Audrey Smoot’s mark of 59.00 set in 2005. G-C ninth-grader Savannah Girolami could make a similar impact 2013. Girolami is seeded first (1:00.80) in the 400, narrowly ahead of Coleman (1:01.29).

Girolami has already come through at a big meet, winning the 400 at the eight-team Noblesville Invitational. Coleman, who returned to the track earlier this month at the Hall of Fame Invitational following an ACL tear in November, has shown she can run lower than 59 in important meets, clocking a time of 58.00 to finish fourth at last June’s state meet.

2. Which races are too close to call?

The boys’ 100 features six sprinters who have broken 12 seconds this season: Eastern Hancock’s Sam Carlton and Jesse Grass, Greenfield-Central’s Brandon Bowmer, Mt. Vernon’s Caleb White and New Palestine’s Andriy Vlashyn and Tyler Walden. The pre-meet favorite is Bowmer, the returning title-holder in the 100 and 200. The Cougar senior, seeded first at 11.28, prevailed last year in 11.58, out-touching MV’s Jiamyl McCoy (11.85) and White (12.06).

The girls’ 100 hurdles doesn’t have quite as many contenders, but the chance for a photo finish is just as high now that NP’s Corinne Zehner has graduated. Zehner, now running at Hillsdale College (Mich.), won this event the last three years of her career and set the race record of 15.68 in 2010. MV’s Phylisia Donaldson was second last year in 16.91. Dragon freshman Annabelle Dockins has the top time (16.56) entering Wednesday, but G-C senior Taylor Johnson clocked a 16.30 en route to establishing a new school record at the Greensburg Invitational Saturday.

EH’s Rebekah Dickmander (17.10) and Hope Spaulding (18.40) are also among the contenders, with coach Jerry Cain noting Spaulding recently timed in at 16.97.

The full story is available to subscribers only.

Subscribers can read the entire story online by signing in here.

Not a subscriber? Become one today by clicking here.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Reporter, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.
Daily Reporter • 22 W. New Road • Greenfield, IN 46140 • (317) 462-5528