The Sideline – February 15

Local wrestlers named academic all-state

The Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association announced its 2017-18 Academic All-State teams this week.

Among the honorees, New Palestine’s Laine Schonauer was elected to the academic all-state first team with a 4.05 GPA.

Honorable mentions were awarded to New Palestine’s Jared Diep, Colin Faubion and Brayden Clevenger.

Greenfield Area Soccer registration now open

The Greenfield Area Soccer Club has opened its registration for the spring soccer season.

Those interested in participating, should visit to signup. Registration ends March 4.

A walk-in registration will be offered Feb. 24 at the Hancock County Library from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

For more information, call 317-620-1057.

IHSWCA announces hall of fame inductees

The Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association will welcome it’s 2017-18 Hall of Fame class Feb. 18. The inductees will be honored during the IHSWCA Hall of Fame banquet.

Wrestlers being inducted include Paul Baker, Belmont; Pat Mayes, Castle; Vernon Rohr, Lafayette Jeff; Mark Rosenbalm, Merrillville; and Danny Williams, Warren Central.

Coaches include John Dechant, Goshen; Dave Kiley, Cloverdale; Mark Line, Valparaiso; and Darrick Snyder, Brownsburg.

Contributors include Bill Kerbel, New Haven; and Jim Ledbetter, Warren Central. The Media Award recipient is Jeremy Hines of the Courier Times.

The Paul Crousore family (New Castle/Warsaw) will receive the Historians Family Award, while Barry Hart of Elkhart Central is the Dr. Donald Shelbourne honorary member. The Tom Cameron Administrative Award will go to Brian Strong of Logansport. The Billy Thom Award will go to T. Howard Jones Jr. of Jennings County.

Columbus East’s Chris Cooper has been named the Don Patton Coach of the Year, Mike Poppe of Garrett is the Randy Helfrich Assistant Coach of the Year. Mason Parris of Lawrenceburg is this year’s Harold F. Mumby Award winner.

Sectional pairings show can be viewed online

Sectional pairings for the 108th IHSAA boys basketball state tournament will be announced at 5 p.m. Sunday.

A two-hour program will stream exclusively on the IHSAA’s video portal at (no television) and via affiliates of the IHSAA Champions Radio Network. The pairings will be made available on after the conclusion of the broadcast.

HHC weekly basketball honorees announced

The Hoosier Heritage Conference announced its weekly honorees for boys basketball Tuesday. A player of the week was chosen based on his individual performances for the week ending Feb. 10.

Boys players of the week

Will O’Connor, Greenfield-Central

O’Connor tallied 31 points in the Cougars’ senior night victory against Knightstown, then followed with 13 in a win over Franklin County. He also tallied 3.5 assists in the two contests.

Matt Grimes, Yorktown

Grimes scored 21 points in the Tigers’ 62-52 victory against Wes-Del.