The Sideline – February 1

Boys sectional pairings shows scheduled

Sectional pairings for the 108th IHSAA boys basketball state tournament will be announced at 5 p.m. Feb. 18.

A two-hour program will stream exclusively on the IHSAA’s video portal at (no television) and via affiliates of the IHSAA Champions Radio Network. The pairings will be made available on after the conclusion of the broadcast.

The pairings shows will no longer air on Fox Sports Indiana as it has in recent years but instead will be replaced with a tournament preview show. The boys tip-off program will air at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22 on Fox Sports Indiana.

HHC weekly basketball honorees announced

The Hoosier Heritage Conference announced its weekly honorees for both boys and girls basketball Tuesday. Players of the Week were chosen based on their individual performances for the week ending Jan. 27.

Boys player of the week

Matthew True, New Palestine

The junior guard had a huge weekend, hitting five first-half 3-pointers en route to 17 points in a 56-40 win against Yorktown, and following that by hitting 7 of 8 from beyond the arc and tallying a career high 28 points in a 68-50 win against Perry Meridian. He also had nine assists and six steals on the weekend.

Girls player of the week

Cameron Tabor, New Castle

Tabor scored a school-record 45 points in the Trojans’ 86-66 victory against Mt. Vernon that closed the regular season. She was 16 of 21 from the floor and also dished seven assists.

Scoring record-setters earn IBCA honors

Southridge freshman Colson Montgomery, New Castle junior Cameron Tabor and Vincennes Rivet junior Grace Waggoner each set school single-game scoring records, and that trio leads the honorees in this week’s IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program.

Montgomery is joined by Marquette Catholic junior Colin Kenney and Tindley senior Eric Hunter as boys’ winners for the week of Jan. 22 to 27. The girls’ honorees are Tabor, Waggoner and DeKalb senior Leigha Brown.

Kenney and Brown are honorees for District 1. Hunter and Tabor are winners for District 2. Montgomery and Waggoner are recipients in District 3.

Dave Young to be honored by IHSAA

The longtime “Voice of the Alices” on WZDM-FM Radio, Dave Young, is this year’s recipient of the IHSAA’s Distinguished Media Service Award for District 3.

Young’s contributions to education-based athletics will be recognized Thursday at Vincennes Lincoln High School when the Alices host Big Eight Conference rival Washington in boys basketball action.

Commissioner Bobby Cox and sports information director Jason Wille will make the presentation.

Young, a programming and sports director, is in his 30th year of broadcasting with 92.1 FM, WZDM in Vincennes, an affiliate of The Original Company network of stations throughout southwestern Indiana and Illinois.