The Sideline – January 24

Boys basketball pairings shows scheduled

Sectional pairings for the 108th IHSAA boys basketball state tournament will be announced at 5 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 18.

A two‐hour program will stream exclusively on the IHSAA’s video portal at (no television) and via affiliates of the IHSAA Champions Radio Network. The pairings will be made available on after the conclusion of the broadcast.

The pairings shows will no longer air on Fox Sports Indiana as it has in recent years but instead will be replaced with a tournament preview show. The boys tip‐off program will air on Fox Sports Indiana at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22.

Cloverdale star leads IBCA weekly honorees

Jalen Moore averaged 44 points over two games last week, and the Cloverdale senior headlines the recipients in this week’s IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program.

Moore is joined by West Noble junior Trevor Franklin, Plainfield senior Gavin Bizeau and East Central senior Tyler Koelling as boys winners for the week of Jan. 15 to 20. The girls’ honorees are Gary West sophomore Dash Shaw, Noblesville senior Emily Kiser and Southwestern (Shelby) freshman Lexi Wilkins.

The 5-9 Moore opened his week by scoring 41 points with four rebounds, eight assists and two steals in a 77-67 victory against North Putnam. He then poured in 47 points with six rebounds, one assist and six steals as the Clovers improved to 10-4 with a 76-57 triumph against Clay City. For the two games, Moore made 28 of 53 field goals, 3 of 15 3-pointers and 29 of 34 free throws.

Pike ranked No. 1 by IBCA girls poll

The Pike girls basketball team claimed the top spot in this week’s Indiana Basketball Coaches Association’s Top 20 rankings. Carmel is second and Northwestern is third. First-place votes are in parentheses. Records are as of Sunday.

IBCA Girls Basketball Rankings


1. Pike (14);20-1

2. Carmel (6);20-2

3. Northwestern;22-1

4. Castle;19-0

5. Lawrence North;18-4

6. Homestead;18-2

7. Jeffersonville;16-4

8. North Central (Indpls);18-5

9. Penn;20-1

10. North Harrison;18-2

11. Bedford N. Lawrence;16-4

12. Zionsville;15-5

13. Ham. Southeastern;15-6

14. Center Grove;16-5

15. Brownsburg;17-4

15. Northridge;20-3

17. Ben Davis;14-6

18. FW South Side;17-4

19. Chesterton;19-2

20. Heritage Christian;13-9

Other schools receiving votes

Angola, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Columbus North, East Chicago Central, Eastern (Pekin), Elkhart Central, Fairfield, Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran, Fort Wayne Northrop, Glenn, Greensburg, Heritage Hills, Jac-Cen-Del, Knox, Lafayette Jefferson, Lake Central, LaPorte, Martinsville, Michigan City Marquette, Noblesville, North Central (Farmersburg), North Judson-San Pierre, NorthWood, Oak Hill, Paoli, Tindley, Vincennes Rivet, Warren Central