The Sideline – November 15

All-HHC football honors announced

A total of 31 players were chosen to the All-Hoosier Heritage Conference football team, with conference champion New Palestine leading the way with nine first-team selections.

New Palestine’s Kyle Ralph was named HHC Coach of the Year, leading the Dragons to a 10-1 record and their fifth straight unbeaten regular season.

2017 All-HHC Football


OL: Lea Daugherty, Sr., Delta

OL: Connor Nelson, Sr., Mt. Vernon

OL: Tommy Witham, Sr., New Castle

OL: Austin Keele, Jr., New Palestine

OL: Jacob Hartwell, Jr., Shelbyville

WR: Mike Hoskins, Sr., Greenfield-Central

WR: Luke Bumbalough, Jr., New Castle

WR: Colby Jenkins, Jr., New Palestine

WR: Eli Pancol, Jr., Pendleton Heights

QB: Niah Williamson, Sr., New Castle

QB: Zach Neligh, Jr., New Palestine

RB: Charlie Spegal, So., Delta

RB: Luke Canfield, So., New Palestine

RB: Damon Lux, Sr., Shelbyville

K: Trevor Bond, Sr., Mt. Vernon


DL: Max Burhenn, Jr., Mt. Vernon

DL: Landan Burton, Sr., New Palestine

DL: Logan Robinson, Sr., New Palestine

DL: Tremor Bynum, Jr., Pendleton Heights

DL: Xain Ballenger, Sr., Shelbyville

LB: Mason Hunt, Jr., Delta

LB: Stephen Spears, Jr., New Castle

LB: Josh Glover, Sr., New Palestine

LB: Luke Ely, Jr., New Palestine

LB: Aaron Candiano, Sr., Pendleton Heights

LB: Nathan Phillips, Sr., Shelbyville

DB: J.T. Hoffman, Sr., New Palestine

DB: Anakin Allison, Jr., Pendleton Heights

DB: Sam Lewis, Sr., Shelbyville

DB: Christian Hunt, Sr., Yorktown

P: Brandt Applegate, Sr., Yorktown

Honorable mentions

Delta: Steven Wright, Nate Southerland, Brady Pease

Greenfield-Central: Zach Kennedy, Orlando Mojica, Chase Ratliff, Andrew Leslie, Grant Hinton, Turk Faitele, Jaden Brown, Braeden Brown, Scott Stanley, Skylar Huffman, Nathan Brand, Grant DeKeyser, Mitch Rosemeyer, Kyle Morris, Ty Jones, Evan McLaughlin

Mt. Vernon: Braxton Trittipo, Cole Van Slyke, Tyson Harley, Justice Hill, Robbie Campbell, Noah Grill

New Castle: Evan Hosea, Dalton Hicks, Tristan Chesher, Carter Brown, Dalton Clouse, Travis Reeves, Caleb Price, Nicholas Grieser

New Palestine: Kyle King, Alex Kropp, Maxen Hook, Ryker Large, Eric Roudebush, Jaxon Manes, Brody Luker

Pendleton Heights: Christian Conkling, Taylor White, Tristen Spinks, Thomas Quiroga, Joe Rios

Shelbyville: Peyton Smith, Luke Reed, Landon Watson

Yorktown: Tyler Writtenhouse, Brady O’Brien, Jordan Spangler, Colten Yarger, Reid Neal


HHC names girls basketball weekly honorees

The Hoosier Heritage Conference recently announced its weekly honors for girls basketball.

Week 2: Kortney Helm, Delta

• Helm averaged 14 points and 7.3 rebounds as the Eagles went 3-0 on the week, beating Alexandria, Hagerstown and Elwood.

Week 1: Cameron Tabor, New Castle

• Tabor averaged 24 points in two games, hitting 18-of-27 from the field. She also averaged six rebounds and three assists as the Trojans opened the year 1-1.