The Sideline – November 9

Mt. Vernon graduate qualifies for nationals

CARMEL — Chelsea Foster, a Mt. Vernon High School graduate, ran the fastest time by a Goshen College women’s cross-country runner in nine years Saturday, qualifying for the NAIA championship and earning all-conference honors with a fifth-place finish in the Crossroads League championship at Northview Church.

Foster finished the 3.11-mile (5K) loop in 19 minutes, 4.4 seconds, lowering her career best by three-fifths of a second and setting a new personal record for the third time this year. Laura Harnish was the most recent Goshen runner to post a better time when she finished in 18:55 in 2008.

As one of the top four individuals not on the team champion (Goshen finished sixth), Foster earns a trip to the national meet in Vancouver, Washington, on Nov. 18.

Foster became the eighth Goshen woman to qualify for nationals: the previous seven combined for 15 appearances, including nine appearances by four runners spanning seven consecutive years from 2002-08.


ICGSA weekly girls hoops ranking released

The Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association released its first weekly girls basketball polls for the regular season Monday. 

Class 4A


1. Carmel;2-0

2. Pike;2-0

3. North Central;3-0

4. Hamilton SE;2-0

5. Zionsville;1-0

6. Jeffersonville;0-0

7. Bedford North Lawrence;1-0

8. Homestead;0-1

9. Lawrence North;2-0

10. Heritage Christian;1-0

Others receiving votes: Northridge, Penn, Martinsville, Indianapolis Cathedral, North Harrison, Columbus North, Warren Central, East Chicago Central, Avon, Ben Davis, South Bend St. Joseph’s

Class 3A


1. Northwestern;1-0

2. Fort Wayne Concordia;1-0

3. Vincennes Lincoln;1-0

4. Greensburg;1-1

5. Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger;0-0

6. Tippecanoe Valley;1-0

7. West Lafayette;1-0

8. Evansville Memorial;0-0

9. Rushville;1-1

10. Bellmont;1-0

Others receiving votes: Glenn, Norwell, Danville, Jay County, New Castle, Marion, Beech Grove, Angola, Gibson Southern, Lebanon, Owen Valley, Northwood

Class 2A


1. Oak Hill;1-0

2. Eastern Pekin;1-0

3. South Ripley;2-0

4. Monroe Central;0-0

5. Triton-Central;2-0

6. Central Noble;0-0

7. Providence;0-0

8. Evansville Mater Dei;0-0

9. Covenant Christian;0-0

10. Paoli;1-0

Others receiving votes: Tipton, Cascade, Whitko, Lafayette Central Catholic, South Adams, Western Boone, North Knox, North Judson, Crawford County, Hammond Bishop Noll, Alexandria Monroe, Winchester

Class A


1. MC Marquette;1-1

2. Indianapolis Tindley;0-0

3. Jac-Cen-Del;0-1

4. Vincennes Rivet;0-0

5. Oregon-Davis;0-0

6. South Central (Elizabeth);0-0

7. Wood Memorial;1-0

8. West Washington;4-0

9. Morgan Township;0-0

10. Triton;0-0

Others receiving votes: Northfield, Argos, Trinity Lutheran, North White, Northeast Dubois, Morristown, Union City, Bloomfield, Barr-Reeve