Sorority welcomes sisters as chapter year begins

FORTVILLE — The members of the Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi Iota Xi is gearing up for the the 2017-18 chapter year.

The local sorority recently installed the following members as the incoming officer board: Melissa Anderson, president; Lou Ann Ewing, vice president; Jenny Humerickhouse, treasurer; Lola Halterman, recording secretary; Beth Aikins, corresponding secretary; and Joani Jenkins, conductress.

Newly welcomed sisters are Lisa Decker, Jenn Westfall and Libby Wyatt.

The local chapter, founded in 1927, is part of the national Psi Iota Xi charitable organization.

The primary focuses of the local chapter and national organization are speech and hearing, art, music and literature.

Alpha Phi Chapter is planning several fundraisers for this fall. The Sisterhood Bazaar is scheduled for Sept. 16 at the Fortville Community Center with Sharon Beatson and Lola Halterman as co-chairwomen.

Orders for the Fall Flowers Sale, organized by Lou Ann Ewing, will be taken during August, and the annual Nut and Candy Fundraiser and Cheeseballs Fundraiser will follow in the Fall.

Proceeds from these events are used to support the local Summer Speech Clinic, Kindergarten Roundup, college scholarships and other projects in the community.

People who would like more information about the local chapter or to participate in the chapter’s fundraisers, contact any member or officer.