Mt. Vernon Senior Night honors students with awards

FORTVILLE — Students from the Mt. Vernon High School graduating class of 2017 were recognized at Senior Honor Night for outstanding achievements. A grand total of $6,231,157.25 in scholarships was awarded to graduating seniors. This amount included scholarships directly awarded from universities and colleges.

Awards given were:

Character Award

Madeline King, Gavin Stamper

Gary Lewark Award

Gavin Stamper

Service and Citizenship Merit

Nick Anderson, Tatum Barton, Mazie Bernard, Madeline Bovard, Emily Frost, Megan Gawrys, Maddison Hahn, Kourtney Hancock, Madelyn Keerns, Madeline King, Erica Lohman, Elise Lowell, Emily Martin, Ashley Offenbach, Kyra Prewitt, Kallan Ratekin, Meg Schleter, Shawn Smith, Gavin Stamper, Collin Walsh, Shelbi Webb, Seth Wentz, Tori Whyde, Peyton Wuerch

Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award

Meg Schleter

Senior Class Officers

Gavin Stamper, President; Madeline King, Vice-President; Meg Schleter, Secretary; Oliver Mast, Treasurer

Senior Class Representatives

Madeline Keerns, Jonah Robinson, Drake Tackett, Henry Werking

Student Government Officers

Blake Miller, President; Tatum Barton, Historian

National Honor Society Officers

Hannah Martin, President; Alyssa Powell, Vice-President; Dana Sutherlin, Secretary; Emily Frost, Treasurer; Emily Annakin, Historian

Mt Vernon AP Scholars with Honor

Madeline Bovard and Gavin Stamper

Bruce McKinney Memorial Scholarship

($868) Hannah Martin

Steve Utt Scholarship

($500) Dylan Finke

Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship

($1,410) Oliver Mast

Judy D. Smith Memorial Scholarship

($500) Julia Wayer

Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarships

($250 each) Jaclyn Bulmahn, Michael Ertel, Madeline King, Oliver Mast

Brandon Rush Award

($100) Skyler Elsky

Roger’s Smile Scholarship

($1,000) Ben Thompson

Hancock County Art Educators Scholarship

($376) Mariah Moore

Edith Zike Nursing Scholarship

Hannah Martin

Phyllis Wright Scholarship

($21,624) Victoria Whyde, Jeffrey Boxberger, ($5,000) Tatum Barton

Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship

($1,200) Elise Lowell, Kaley Smith

Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award

($500) Madeline Bovard

Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Booster Scholarships

($541.50 each) Leah Klinestiver, Erica Lohman

Donna Duzan Nursing Scholarship

($500) Briahna Angelopulos

Fortville Business and Professional Women Scholarship

($1,000) Kaley Smith

Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship

Briahna Angelopulos, Joshua Powell

Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship

($1,000 each) Abby Anderson, Megan Gawrys, Anne McCain, Kathleen Smith, Henry Werking

Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship

($500) Mazie Bernard

Psi Iota Xi Literature Scholarship

($1,000) Zachary Roach

Psi Iota Xi Art Scholarship

($1,000) Abby Anderson

Psi Iota Xi Debbie Plank Memorial Music Scholarship

($1,000) Kathleen Smith

Greenfield Kiwanis Robert Eagleston Scholarship

($1250) Emily Frost

Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship

($518) Madelyn Keerns

Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship

($2,000) Madeline Bovard

Hancock County Community Foundation Scholarship — Lilly Finalists

($1,000 each) Emily Frost, Meg Schleter

Fortville McCordsville Area Chamber of Commerce

($1000) Abby Anderson

George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship

2nd Place Vocal ($2500) Felicity Kratky; 2nd Place Instrumental ($2500) Leah Klinestiver

Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship

($1147) Madeline Bovard

Walter P. and Virginia Worland Scholarship

($1169.25) Zach Roach

Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship

($1156) Jeffrey Boxberger

Lillian Thomas Hull and Charles M. Hull Fine Arts Scholarship

($500) Erica Lohman

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship

($662) Gavin Stamper

JAG Outstanding Senior

Malik Hamilton-Battee

Earl J. and Irene B. Brooks Scholarship

($3,668) Savanna Donaldson; ($3,668) Danielle Keene

Maxwell United Methodist Memorial Scholarship

($1000) Shelbi Webb

Mervin K. Holzhausen Memorial Scholarship

($2000) Julia Wayer

Army Reserve Scholar Athlete

Meg Schleter and Mitch McCarthy

DAR Good Citizen

($100) Madeline King

FCCLA Scholarship Award

Mazie Bernard

The Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award

Gavin Stamper

The Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award

Michael Ertel

The Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award

Madeline King

Top Scholar Awards

Badrinadh Alvandhar, Emily Annakin, Madeline Bovard, Emily Frost, Megan Gawrys, Nathan Grandstaff, Bryce Gray, Leah Klinestiver, Erica Lohman, Seth Luke, Mitchell McCarthy, Alyssa Powell, Kallan Ratekin, Luken Rigsbee, Meg Schleter, Gavin Stamper, Shelbi Webb

Mt. Vernon High School Department Awards

Seth Roberts (Agricultural Education,) Gavin Stamper (Band,) Madelyn Keerns (Business,) Erica Lohman (Choir,) Josh Powell (Engineering and Technology,) Madeline Bovard (English/Language,) Elise Lowell (FACS,) Elise Lowell (Fine Arts,) Alex Barnett (Health/Phys. Ed.,) Blake Miller (High Tech Academy,) Nathan Grandstaff (Mathematics,) Nathan Grandstaff (Science,) Shelbi Webb (Social Studies,) Madeline King (Word Language)

Senior Leadership Award

($1,500 each) Blake Miller, Gavin Stamper