New Palestine High School Principal Keith Fessler earned his second “principal of the year” award in 10 years.

Fessler was named the District 10 winner during the Indiana Association of School Principals annual banquet in Indianapolis on Sunday, Nov. 20. He was chosen from among other top principals in the state and was in the running for the state Principal of the Year District 10 honors.

District 10 is located in southeastern Indiana and comprises schools from Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Jennings, Ripley, Rush, Shelby and Union counties.

The recognition ceremony was part of the 2016 Principals of the Year recognition celebration, which is part of IASP’s annual Fall Professional Conference.

This year’s award was presented by IASP state president Al Remaly and executive director Todd Bess.

For the second time in four years, Fessler was named the District 10 winner. He also was awarded the honor in 2013, when he and assistant principal Miles Hercamp were both recognized for their work as administrators.

Shortly after being named as a district honoree last spring, Fessler said no one wins an award like this without a solid foundation.

He expressed the same views after picking up the award. Being a district winner is a true honor, he said.

“It’s really a team award, and I’m lucky to have a great team of students, teachers and administrators,” Fessler said in an email to the Daily Reporter. “I have a pretty awesome team at home, too.”

Principals of the Year are elected by their peers.

One principal is selected for the honor from each of 12 different districts around the state. From the 12 District High School Principal winners, one winner is chosen to be the 2016 State High School Principal of the Year.

The Indiana Association of School Principals is a not-for-profit, professional association serving more than 2,500 building-level administrators in Indiana.

Author photo
Kristy Deer is a reporter at the Greenfield Daily Reporter. She can be reached at 317-477-3262 or