Daily Reporter staff reports

HANCOCK COUNTY — Members of 4-H clubs around the county received recognition during the annual 4-H awards program held at the exhibit building at the Hancock County 4-H Fairgrounds Sept. 18.

The Ora Callahan Award was established in 1963 by Ora and Shirley Callahan to recognize the top two outstanding Hancock County 4-H members in the categories of achievement, citizenship and leadership. The awards were created to stimulate growth and development of 4-H members who will be tomorrow’s leaders, according to a press release. This year’s winners were Lily Erlewein, Rebekah Cochard, Tara Paarlberg, Ethan Elsbury, Emily Jones and Caitlin Cox.

Four 4-H’ers received the State Fair sweepstakes award, which was created to recognize 4-H members who excel in the Indiana State Fair 4-H building projects. The winners were Sean Kelley, Ryan Kilstrum, Micah Black and Kara Mustard.

Story continues below gallery

Ellie Parker, Tyler Deutsch and Harper Chrabascz received the outstanding third grade 4-H member award, which is based upon the number of projects completed, participation in the club and county through community service, demonstrations and committees, according to a press release. Participation in county events, including public speaking, demonstration, action demos, 4-H camp and more are also considered in this category. The Cool Clovers 4-H club sponsors these awards.

The 4-H “I dare you” awards are presented to 4-H members in recognition of personal integrity and potential for leadership. The recipients are always in their junior year of high school. This year’s award recipients were Cole Dingman and Sam Bricker.

Finally, the 4-H Key Club award designates the recipient as an outstanding 4-H member in the local club and county and encourages him or her to continue leadership in action to further develop 4-H club work in Indiana. Gabe Cochard and Rebekah Cochard were the recipients of this year’s awards.