Daily Reporter staff reports

GREENFIELD — The Hancock Regional Hospital Foundation awarded a total of $60,000 in scholarships to 22 local students in a medical field of study.

The 2016 Edith Zike Nursing Scholarship recipients are: Anne Moore, Ball State; Claire Hornsby, Purdue; Kaylee Bluethmann, Marian University; Keltsey Watkins, Ivy Tech; Lauren Brown, Marian University; Leslie Wickard, Chamberlain College of Nursing; Mattie Waggoner, New Palestine High School; Melissa Hurtado, IU East; Paige Long, Anderson University; and Samara Fletcher, Greenfield Central High School. These students received $2,000 toward their tuition.

The Foundation has awarded the 2016 John F. Stickford Nursing Scholarship to Ashlie Koth. This scholarship will cover her entire tuition for the 2016-17 school year. The John F. Stickford Nursing Scholarships are made possible through the generous gift from the estate of Mr. John F. Stickford. Recipients of this scholarship commit to working as a nurse in Hancock or Shelby county for each year that they receive this scholarship.

Story continues below gallery

The HRH Foundation’s School of Radiologic Technology Scholarship is awarded to individuals currently enrolled in the hospital’s School of Radiologic Technology. This year’s recipients include Kendra Scott, Chelsey Rapp, Taylor Hicks, Zach Kissick, Morgan Tinkel and Kristin Wadley. They each receive $1,000 toward their tuition. Morgan Tinkel received a $500 award for being top of her class.

The foundation also awarded the School of Radiologic Technology Scholarship for Mt. Vernon Students to Lindsey Barker. This scholarship was made possible through a generous gift from radiologist Dr. Bryan Burney of McCordsville and will cover Lindsey’s entire tuition and the cost of books.

Another new scholarship for 2016 is the Hancock Regional Hospital Foundation Healthcare and Wellness Scholarship. This scholarship was created to support local students and encourage entry into healthcare and wellness professions. This year, four students received $2,000 toward their tuition. The recipients are Ariel Sturgill, IU Med School; Rebecca Flora, Marian University/IUPUI; Savanna Bannister, Indiana Wesleyan; and Adam Rominger, Butler University.

The foundation’s scholarship programs are made possible through proceeds from an annual golf outing and other contributions from the community. Since 1977, the Foundation has awarded 200 scholarships totaling more than $300,000 to students in Hancock County. For more information, call 468-4106 or visit hancockregionalhospital.org/foundation.