Local softball players honored by conference

The Greenfield-Central Cougars, New Palestine Dragons and Mt. Vernon Marauders were honored by the Hoosier Heritage Conference this month.

The Cougars had three players named to the 2016 All-HHC softball team. The Marauders claimed one spot, and the Dragons had four athletes earn recognition while New Palestine’s Ed Marcum was named HHC Coach of the Year.

Kristin Conners, a senior, represented the Marauders, which finished 13-11 on the year.

Story continues below gallery

The 17-10 Cougars’ All-HHC trio included juniors Machaela Ballman and Morganne Denny. Senior Darcie Huber, a Ball State recruit, was a unanimous selection.

The HHC champion Dragons had three seniors receive nods including Madison Whitaker. Issy Hoyt and Casey Lehman were unanimous selections with junior Elisha Barker completing the quartet.

New Palestine ended the year with a 24-3 record and tied Shelbyville at 6-1 in the HHC for a share of the title.

Honorable mentions were presented to Codey Miller and Maria Kihega of Greenfield-Central; Morgan Moss and Sadie Baugh of Mt. Vernon; and Tara Morey and Ashley Prange of New Palestine.


Area baseball standouts net HHC recognition

The Hoosier Heritage Conference champion New Palestine Dragons pulled off a clean sweep in this year’s all-conference voting.

The Dragons had four players earn All-HHC First Team honors while New Palestine’s Shawn Lyons was named HHC Coach of the Year.

Nebraska recruit Keegan Watson, a junior, was a unanimous selection in addition to senior Zach Lovell. Seniors Evan Fitzgerald and Braden Roberts were also named to the All-HHC First Team.

New Palestine finished the year 19-10 and 10-4 in the HHC.

The Marauders has three unanimous selections in seniors Noah Powell and Kennedy Parker along with junior Ryan Beck. Mt. Vernon was second in the HHC with a 9-5 record. They were 18-9 overall.

Greenfield-Central junior Drey Jameson was also a unanimous honoree.

Honorable mentions were presented to Jason Hall-Manley of New Palestine; Travis Mason, Tyler Franklin and Brayden Augustinovicz of Mt. Vernon; and Tate Hall and Tyler Farrell of Greenfield-Central.


Greenfield’s Angle named to Hall board

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame named three new members to their board of directors at the organization’s annual meeting Thursday. Larry Angle, Denny Brady and Roger DeYoung have been appointed to four-year terms, beginning July 1.

Angle is a 1961 graduate of New Salem High School and 1966 graduate of Utah State University. A 2010 inductee into the Hall of Fame, he was head coach at Rushville, Carmel, Tipton, Greenfield-Central and Indian Creek, accumulating 375 career wins and leading Rushville to the 1976 state runner-up finish. He resides in Greenfield.

Brady is a 1964 graduate of Lafayette Jeff High School and 1969 graduate of Purdue University. He was named Indiana’s 1964 Mr. Basketball.

DeYoung is a 1952 graduate of DeMotte High School.