The Sideline – March 1

Mt. Vernon grad sets two IPFW records

Olivia Coleman helped the IPFW women’s track and field team set two of seven new school records this weekend during the 2016 Summit League Championships in Fort Wayne.

The Mt. Vernon graduate broke her own 400-meter record twice, once Friday and again Saturday, setting the new mark at 56.12 seconds.

Her run on Friday was timed at 57.09.

Coleman earned All-Summit League honors in the event and also joined Alexis Wygant, Elise Cobb and Kyley Marano in setting a new record in the 1,600-meter relay with a time of 3:59.07.

Coleman tied her own long-jump record with a distance of 5.49 meters Friday.


Fundraiser planned for New Pal baseball

A fundraiser breakfast is set from 8 a.m. to noon March 12 at the New Palestine Lions Club to support the New Palestine High School baseball team.

The breakfast will provide supporters with a chance to meet the players and coaches.

There are no advanced tickets, but free will donations will be accepted the day of the event.

In addition, an indoor garage sale hosted by the American Legion Auxiliary Post 182 will take place the same day. The garage sale will be conducted during the breakfast hours.

All proceeds from the garage sale will benefit veterans and the auxiliary programs. All season decorations and home décor will be included.


Annual 3-on-3 hoops tourney this month

The Eastern Hancock Athletic Boosters will conduct their annual 3-on-3 basketball tournament March 12 at Eastern Hancock Schools.

There will be five divisions of play each for boys and girls. There also will be two open divisions for those younger than age 35 and those 35 and older.

Early registrations are due by March 5. Space permitting, registrations also will be accepted from 9 to 10 a.m. the day of the tournament.

For more information, including an entry form, visit or, or email


New Albany remains No. 1 in IBCA rankings

Indiana Basketball Coaches Association

Sunday’s poll

(First-place votes in parentheses)


1. New Albany (22) 21-1

2. Merrillville 22-1

3. McCutcheon 22-3

4. North Central (Ind.) 19-3

5. Warsaw 21-1

6. Lawrence North 19-5

7. Bloomington South 19-4

8. Lawrence Central 17-6

9. Southport 17-6

10. Pike 17-7

11. Evansville Reitz 19-4

12. Carroll (Fort Wayne) 19-6

13. Indpls. Tech 18-5

14. Indpls. Cathedral 17-5

15. Griffith 20-3

16. South Bend Riley 19-5

17. Carmel 14-8

18. Franklin Central 16-6

19. F.W. North Side 17-6

20. NorthWood 20-2

Other schools receiving votes: Barr-Reeve, Ben Davis, Bloomfield, Brownstown Central, Castle, Chesterton, Columbia City, Crown Point, Danville, East Chicago Central, Fort Wayne Northrop, Fort Wayne Snider, Homestead, Lapel, Lowell, Marion, Mishawaka Marian, Mt. Vernon, North Central (Farmersburg), Northeastern, Park Tudor, South Bend Washington, Terre Haute South Vigo, Tipton, Valparaiso, Warren Central, Zionsville