The Sideline – January 7

Shelton nominated for McDonald’s game

On Tuesday, McDonald’s released its list of 755 boys and girls high school seniors nominated for the 2016 McDonald’s All American Games, which will tip off March 30 at Chicago’s United Center.

Mt. Vernon’s Sydney Shelton was among Indiana’s 17 overall selections and nine nominated for the girls teams.

The final rosters of 24 boys and 24 girls will be revealed on Jan. 17 at 9:30 p.m. (CST) during the McDonald’s All American Games Selection Show on ESPNU, televised this year from The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

Indiana’s McDonald’s All American Games nominees


Name, school, city

C.J. Walker, Arsenal Technical High School, Indianapolis

Demond Wilkins, Merrillville High School, Merrillville

Devan Straub, Evansville Mater Dei High School, Evansville

Eron Gordon, Cathedral High School, Indianapolis

James Banks, La Lumiere School, La Porte

Joey Brunk, Southport High School, Indianapolis

Jordan Walker, Cathedral High School, Indianapolis

Kyle Guy, Lawrence Central High School, Indianapolis


Name, school, city

Lindsey Corsaro, Roncalli High School, Indianapolis

Darby Foresman, Heritage Christian School, Indianapolis

Tyasha Harris, Heritage Christian High School, Indianapolis

Ae’Rianna Harris, Lawrence North High School, Indianapolis

Cameron Onken, Lafayette Central Catholic High School, Lafayette

Jayla Scaife, Muncie Central High School, Muncie

Sydney Shelton, Mt. Vernon High School, Fortville

Emily Sullivan, Evansville Memorial High School, Evansville

Jackie Young, Princeton Community High School, Princeton


Dragons coach getting Semper Fi Coach Award

New Palestine head football coach Kyle Ralph will be honored with the Semper Fi Coach Award by the United States Marine Corps and the Glazier Clinics.

The award is presented to a football coach who has overcome significant obstacles in order to succeed, and models the USMC’s values of honor, courage and commitment. It is awarded at each Glazier Clinic — a national football clinic series. Ralph will receive the award in Indianapolis on Jan. 23.

Ralph has been the Dragons’ head coach since 2013, leading the team to a 41-2 record during those three seasons, including three unbeaten regular seasons, three Hoosier Heritage Conference championships, three sectional and regional championships, two semistate titles and the 2014 Class 4A state championship.

In addition to coaching football, he teaches social studies and physical education at New Palestine and serves as the school’s varsity track and field coach.


Seton Catholic senior leads weekly honorees

Desmond Bane of Seton Catholic averaged 33.4 points and 13.0 rebounds during five games to headline the honorees in the IBCA Player of the Week program for the week of Dec. 28-Jan. 2.

The senior also claimed Most Outstanding Player accolades in the 16-team Bob Wettig Memorial Tournament.

He is joined by Fort Wayne Snider junior Malik Williams, Terre Haute South junior Jaylen Minnett, East Chicago Central sophomore Jenasae Bishop, Lafayette Central Catholic senior Cameron Onken and Princeton senior Jackie Young as recipients in the recognition program.

Williams and Bishop are respective boys’ and girls’ winners for District 1, Bane and Onken are honorees for District 2, and Minnett and Young collected accolades for District 3.


Prep calendar


Girls basketball

Eastern Hancock at Hauser, 7:30 p.m.


New Palestine at Franklin Central, 6:30 p.m.


Boys basketball

Eastern Hancock at Muncie Burris, 7:30 p.m.

Mt. Vernon at Greenfield-Central, 7:45 p.m.

Delta at New Palestine, 7:30 p.m.