The Sideline – December 2

Volleyball Club evaluations scheduled

Lady Royals Volleyball Club evaluations will be conducted Sunday and Dec. 13 inside the Eastern Hancock High School gym. The Royals Volleyball Club is open to all area volleyball players who love the game, want to extend their play, and are interested in working hard and improving their skills.

For more information, contact head coach Cory Rainbolt at 317-467-0095, ext. 214.


Wise named District Player of the Week

Jackie Young of Princeton scored a season-high 53 points to headline the honorees in the IBCA Player of the Week program for the week of Nov. 16 to 21.

But Greenfield-Central’s Madison Wise wasn’t too far behind.

Young was joined by Wise and Gary West junior Dana Evans as winners in the recognition program coordinated by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

The 6-foot Wise had two-game averages of 29.0 points, 15.0 rebounds, 5.5 assists and 4.0 blocks as Greenfield-Central improved to 4-0.

Wise opened with 23 points, 15 rebounds, five assists and five blocks in a 48-42 triumph against Pendleton Heights. She followed by unloading 35 points with 15 rebounds, six assists and three blocks as the Cougars knocked off North Central 77-73 in double overtime.

Wise converted 20 of 30 field goals, three of four 3-pointers and 15 of 23 free throws in the two games.

Greenfield-Central is 5-2 on the season after going 1-2 through the week of Nov. 23-28. The Cougars finished runners-up in the Jeffersonville Tournament on Saturday.

2015-16 winners

Nov. 2 to 7, District 1 girls: Shamari Tyson, Fort Wayne Wayne. District 2 girls: Jayla Scaife, Muncie Central. District 3: Alexis Thomas, Evansville Central.

Nov. 9 to 14, District 1 girls: Dana Evans, Gary West. District 2 girls: Lindsey Corsaro, Roncalli. District 3 girls: Jackie Young, Princeton.

Nov. 16 to 21, District 1 girls: Dana Evans, Gary West. District 2 girls: Madison Wise, Greenfield-Central. District 3 girls: Jackie Young, Princeton.

Nov. 23 to 28, District 1 girls: Dana Evans, Gary West. District 2 girls: Kristen Spolyar, Lebanon. District 3 girls: Jackie Young, Princeton.


Indiana Basketball HOF announces 2016 class

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors has announced its 2016 Men’s Induction Class to be honored March 23.

Headlining the class is Bedford North Lawrence’s Damon Bailey.

Bailey remains the all-time leading scorer in Indiana high school basketball history 26 years after he graduated with 3,134 points. The 1990 Indiana Mr. Basketball, he led the Bedford North Lawrence Stars to three state finals appearances, including the 1990 state championship, won in front of a world-record crowd of 41,046 for a high school basketball game.

A two-time Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year, he was a 1990 McDonald’s All-American, the consensus 1990 High School National Player of the Year and named by USA Today as the High School Player of the Decade. At Indiana University, he was named All-American as a senior in 1994.

2016 HOF induction class

Name, high school, graduation

Damon Bailey, Bedford North Lawrence, 1990

Tom Bowman, Martinsville, 1959

Calbert Cheaney, Evansville Harrison, 1989

*Henry “Hank” Clason, Goshen, 1938

Jim Fisher, Lebanon, 1979

Russ Grieger, Evansville Bosse, 1960

Bill Hahn, Michigan City Elston, 1959

Willie Humes, Madison, 1967

Brad Miley, Rushville, 1976

Terry Stillabower, Lafayette Jefferson, 1964

Joe Todrank, Holland, 1956

Charles “Butch” Wade, Columbus, 1963

Silver Medal

Mike Blake, Mt. Carmel (Chicago, Ill.), 1962

Centennial Award

*Bill Diddel, Indianapolis Manual, 1904