The Sideline – June 18

Seven county players named to all-HHC team

This week, the Hoosier Heritage Conference announced its 2015 all-conference baseball selections. The sectional champion Class 3A New Palestine Dragons were awarded three all-HHC spots, while Greenfield-Central and Mt. Vernon each received two.

Here is the complete list of the 2015 all-HHC recipients:

Name Grade School

Cade Jones 12 Delta

Tate Stone 12 Delta#

Drey Jameson 10 G-C

Slater Rush 12 G-C

Zach Spears 12 Mt. Vernon#

Noah Powell 11 Mt. Vernon

Garrett Welch 12 New Castle#

Keegan Watson 10 New Pal.#

Jason Hall-Manley 11 New Pal.#

Evan Hickman 12 New Pal.

Spencer McCool 12 P. Heights

Thomas Hall 12 P. Heights

Logan Young 10 Shelbyville#

Colin Phelps 12 Shelbyville

C. Hasecuster 11 Shelbyville

Clay Dungan 12 Yorktown#

Jacob Preston 12 Yorktown#

Jacob Clawson 11 Yorktown#

Nathan Phillips 12 Yorktown

Cole Barr 10 Yorktown

# Unanimous selection

Honorable mentions: Delta: Nick Maloney (12), Trey Bland (12); Greenfield-Central: Dallas Pribble (12), Dylan Cheshier (12), Seth Adams (12), Tyler Farrell (10); Mt. Vernon: James Stricker (12), Tyler Franklin (11), Christian Smith (12), Kennedy Parker (11); New Castle: Jared Heard (10), Caleb Matthews (10), Kenny Martin (12); New Palestine: Hogan Fulkerson (11); Pendleton Heights: Nate Grile (12); Jake Harris (10), Noah Etchison (12), Quentin Miller (12); Shelbyville: Braxton Savage (12), Drew Mathies (10), John Lux (10); Yorktown: Anthony Todd (11), Brady Horine (10).

HHC Coach of the Year: Mike Larrabee, Yorktown

Final team standings:

School HHC Overall

Yorktown 10-4 24-4

Mt. Vernon 9-5 15-13

Pendleton Heights; 9-5 23-10

New Palestine 8-6 21-12

Greenfield-Central 7-7 14-15

Shelbyville 5-9 14-14

Delta 4-10 14-14

New Castle 4-10 14-17

Registration open for youth football league

The Eastern Hancock Youth Football League has opened online registration for the 2015 season and its youth football camp.

The camp, designated for players in kindergarten through sixth grade, runs July 20 to 23. The cost is $45 per participant.

Camp check-in is scheduled for 2 p.m., with sessions taking place from 2:30 to 4 p.m. (kindergarten through fourth grade) and 4 to 5:30 p.m. (fifth grade and sixth grade).

Equipment issue dates for third-graders through sixth-graders will be conducted from 6 to 8 p.m. July 13 and July 15.

A flag league (kindergarten through second grade) is available at $30 per player. The EHYFL Tackle League (third grade through sixth grade) costs $70 per person.

The first league practice is set for the week of July 27. League play will begin Aug. 8. Flag league practice times and dates will be shared through email.

Those interested in participating can sign up at by clicking on the following links: Fall Sports/Football/Youth Football. The deadline to register is June 30.

Payments can be made via credit card online or by checks payable to EHYFL to Eastern Hancock High School, c/o Jim O’Hara, 10320 E. County Road 250N, Charlottesville, IN 46117; or Justin Swan, youth league registrar, 4316 S. County Road 900E, Carthage, IN 46115.

Contact Swan at 317-498-1840 or, Clayton Shultz at 317-413-2884 or or O’Hara at 317-496 9304 to

Indiana champions in tennis, softball crowned

State softball and tennis titles were decided Saturday, while baseball’s champions will be determined in the coming days.


Class A: Hauser 4, Carroll (Flora) 1

Class 2A: North Central (Farmersburg) 3, Boone Grove 0

Class 3A: Gibson Southern 5, Leo 3

Class 4A: Center Grove 6, Lake Central 2


Singles: Denise Azcui, Bloomington South (18-0; 11-0) def. Kiersten Carlson, Carmel (14-2; 10-1), 5-7, 7-5, 6-4.

Doubles: Emma Love/Lauryn Padgett, Carmel (10-0; 10-0) def. Alexis Applegate/Erin Patterson, Floyd Central (13-4; 7-1), 6-1, 6-0.


All state championship games will be played at Victory Field in Indianapolis.


Class 3A: No. 1 Jasper (30-1) vs. No. 3 Andrean (29-6), 7:30 p.m.


Class A: No. 8 Shakamak (21-6) vs. No. 2 Rockville (27-6), 1 p.m.

Class 2A: No. 1 South Spencer (24-2) vs. No. 3 Lafayette Central Catholic (29-5), 4 p.m.

Class 4A: Terre Haute North (21-11) vs. Penn (25-9) 7 p.m.