Marauders put county racket crown on line

Daily Reporter staff reports

Hancock County Girls Tennis Championships

When: Friday, 5 p.m., draw and coaches meeting. Round 1 begins at 5:30 p.m.

Schedule: Round 1, varsity; Round 2, junior varsity; Round 3, junior varsity finals and consolations; Round 4, varsity finals and consolations.

Where: Mt. Vernon High School

Who: Eastern Hancock, Greenfield-Central, Mt. Vernon and New Palestine girls’ tennis teams.

Admission: Free.

Format: Individual random draw with teams earning points the further their players advance in No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles and No. 1 and No. 2 doubles brackets. Round 1 winners — 3 points. Champions — 4 points. Consolation winners — 2 points.

Last year: Mt. Vernon snapped New Palestine’s two-year hold on the county crown. The Marauders won the No. 1 and No. 2 singles championships and the No. 2 doubles championships to end the day and finished with 27 points, ahead of New Palestine (21), Greenfield-Central (8) and Eastern Hancock (4).

Quote: “County can be lost if you don’t win the first round. Most of our girls have been there and know what it takes to get the job done. We believe in ourselves, but we know you can’t just show up because all the other teams will be gunning for us. We have to have the heart of a lion, brains of a dolphin, reflexes of a cheetah and looks of a Zoolander.” — Mt. Vernon head coach Gabe Muterspaugh

2014 individual title match results:

No. 1 singles — Allie Schafer (MV) def. Nicole Beaty (NP), 6-4, 6-2

No. 2 singles — Sarah Jones (MV) def. Alli Frazier (GC), 4-6, 6-0, 6-4

No. 3 singles — Emily Kiefer (NP) def. Kendra Eberhard (MV), 7-6 (7-1), 7-6 (7-1)

No. 1 doubles — Kara Miller/Kylar Litteral (NP) def. Maddie Walrod/Molly Laughlin (MV), 3-6, 6-4, 6-3

No. 2 doubles — Addison Eads/Cassie York (MV) def. Rachel Berish/Emma Vowell (GC), 6-0, 6-0

Recent team champions:

Mt. Vernon (2004, ’05*, ’09, ’10, ’11, ’14)

New Palestine (2005*, ’06, ’08, ’12, ’13)

Greenfield Central (2007)

Eastern Hancock (2005*)

*Finished in a 3-way tie.

Awards: Varsity team Championship Trophy, medal for each individual winner. Junior varsity team championship trophy, medal for each individual winner

Concessions: There will be no concession facilities available.

Also, fans are advised that bleacher seating is limited and to bring lawn chairs for their comfort.