3-pointers: Big Ten Tournament

The Big Ten Tournament is underway in Chicago, and two of Indiana’s favorite teams are hoping for long stays.

With a couple of tournament victories, Tom Crean and his Hoosiers would solidify their case for a spot in the dance and perhaps avoid a play-in game.

For Matt Painter and Purdue, a deep run in the conference tourney could well be enough to avoid a double-digit seed come March Madness.

Story continues below gallery

While following with the action, let’s take a look back at the history of the Big Ten Tournament, as well as how the Hoosiers and Boilermakers have fared during its now 18-year run.

The Tournament

The Big Ten Tournament is being played at the United Center — home of the Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks — for the ninth time. Indianapolis has hosted the tournament nine times, including last year.

Six different teams have won the tourney title. Michigan State and Ohio State lead all schools with four crowns each. Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin have each claimed the honor twice and Purdue once.

According to the Big Ten, more than 1.6 million fans have enjoyed the tournament at various locations since 1998. The past two tournaments have sold out. In 2013, Bankers Life Fieldhouse accepted more than 111,000 fans, the largest attendance in Indianapolis’ history of hosting.

The Hoosiers

Entering this year’s tourney, Indiana is 10-17 all-time in the Big Ten Tournament. Illinois has proven to be IU’s tourney kryptonite, as the Illini are 6-1 against the Hoosiers. Indiana owns favorable records against Ohio State (2-1), Michigan State (1-0) and Michigan (1-0).

It has been 14 years since Indiana made a run to the title game. The then-No. 4 seed Hoosiers fell against sixth-seeded Iowa 63-61. It is their only championship game appearance.

Indiana owns the No. 7 seed this year for the first time in its history. The Hoosiers have yet to own the second, ninth, 12th, 13th or 14th seeds.

The Boilermakers

Purdue is 9-16 all-time in the Big Ten Tournament. Tom Izzo’s squads at Michigan State have been the bane of the Boilers, defeating them in all three of their matchups. Purdue owns favorable records against Indiana (1-0), Penn St. (1-0) and Northwestern (1-0).

The Boilermakers won their only Big Ten Tournament title in 2009, defeating Ohio State 65-61. Their only other visit to the title game came in the tournament’s inaugural year (1998), when they lost to Michigan 76-67.

Purdue has not been the tournament’s No. 4 seed since 2003. They have occupied all but the top, 13th and 14th seeds.

Due to NCAA sanctions, Michigan has vacated its wins and title from the 1998 season, as well as the 1999 season. Ohio State vacated its 2002 title.